Hurricanes Finish Third at ACC Rowing Championships

Hurricanes Finish Third at ACC Rowing Championships

April 20, 2009

Oak Ridge, Tenn. – Laura Cordner and Emily Wingrove were selected to the All-ACC Team as the University of Miami rowing team concluded Monday’s Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Rowing Championships with a third place finish at Melton Lake in Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Miami earned a total of 34 points Monday, finishing 11 points ahead of Boston College (23) who was in fourth place in the final standings. Clemson claimed its first-ever ACC Rowing Championship by sweeping the Varsity Four and Varsity Eight events to finish with 55 points.

Virginia, entering the day seeking its 10th consecutive conference crown, finished just one (1) point shy of that task, coming in second with 54 points. Duke finished fifth with 21 points, and North Carolina rounded out the six participating schools with 19 points.

Senior Laura Cordner (Melbourne, Victoria) earned All-ACC Team honors as she rowed six seat for the Hurricanes in the First Varsity Eight race Monday morning. The three-time All-ACC Academic Team selection and 2008 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) Pocock All-American was instrumental for the `Canes all season.

The ACC Championships featured four different races between the six participating schools within the ACC. UM faced off against crews from Boston College, Clemson, Duke, North Carolina and Virginia.

The Hurricanes finished third in the Varsity Eight, completing a time of 7:00.01, coming in three seconds ahead of Boston College (7:03.60). Aiding the 1V8+ crew for UM was fellow All-ACC member sophomore Emily Wingrove. Wingrove collected her first All-ACC honor this season after being named to the All-Academic team a year ago.

Miami used the crew of Monika Sajincic (bow), Marleena Eyre (2), Emily Wingrove (3), Sarah Medland (4), Rachael Sporko (5), Laura Cordner (6), Frida Schneider (7), Camilla Espana (stroke) and Shira Kharrazi (coxswain) in the event.

For the 10th consecutive year, Virginia’s Second Varsity 8+ finished first in its race. Clemson finished second with a time of 6:57.13 behind Virginia’s 6:49.30. Virginia’s Martha Kuzzy, a member of the Second Varsity 8+ crew, was named the ACC Freshman of the Year.

In the 2V8+, UM placed third crossing at 7:18.42 in the race. The crew of Lizzy Elner (bow), Alexa McCanick (2), Karalyn Van Aken (3), Nic Saner (4), Isabelle Prosser (5), Molly Thornton (6), Kate Rickers (7), Stephanie Parrish (stroke) and Christina Crocco (coxswain) took part in the event.

UM assistant coach Margaret Matia is in charge of the novices this year, and she utilized the team of Amanda Zacharkiewicz (bow), Kate Hall (2), Victoria Uribe (3), Natalie Snyder (4), Julie Creamer (5), Christina Mena (6), Maria Siemann (7), Morgan Visalli (stroke) and Tiara Brown (coxswain) for the ACC Championships. The Hurricanes novices came up fifth overall, finishing with a finishing time of 8:12.02.

In the final race of the day–the Varsity Four, Miami interim head coach Boban Rankovic fielded the crew of Theresa Recicar (bow), Allyson Hodgkins (2), Olivia Arkell (3), Tara Eddings (stroke) and Heather Hollembeak (coxswain) for a shot at the title. UM would execute a fifth-place time of 8:20.24 in the event, coming in almost 25 seconds ahead of Boston College (8:34.35).

Clemson’s Varsity 4+ became just the fourth non-Virginia crew to win an event at the conference regatta when the Tigers defeated the Cavaliers with a time of 7:43.10 in the first race of the morning.

Clemson Head Coach Richard Ruggieri was named the ACC Coach of the Year in just his second year with the program after guiding the Tigers to their first conference title.

In addition, Clemson’s Varsity 8+ was named the ACC Crew of the Year. The winning crew is composed of Carla Englund (coxswain), Jessica Leidecker, Meg Bendik, Liz Robb, Michelle Nance, Stefanie Kozuszek, Grace Wolff, Brittany Cummings, and Hilary Cumbest.

For more information on the ACC Rowing Championships, log on to

ACC Rowing Results:
1V8+: 1. Clemson, 6:38.40; 2. Virginia, 6:47.92; 3. Miami, 7:00.01; 4. Boston College, 7:03.60; 5. Duke, 7:09.03; 6. North Carolina, 7:11.62

2V8+: 1. Virginia, 6:49.30; 2. Clemson 6:57.13; 3. Miami, 7:18.42; 4. Boston College, 7:25.45; 5. North Carolina, 7:42.99

N8+: 1. Virginia, 7:04.80; 2. Duke, 7:11.85; 3. Clemson, 7:17.9; 4. North Carolina, 7:30.53; 5. Miami, 8:12.02

1V4+: 1. Clemson, 7:43.10; 2. Virginia, 7:47.82; 3. Duke, 7:57.08; 4. North Carolina, 8:14.94; 5. Miami, 8:20.24; 6. Boston College, 8:34.35

All-ACC Team
Carla Englund, coxswain (Clemson), Jessica Leidecker (Clemson), Brittany Cummings (Clemson), Hilary Cumbest (Clemson), Michelle Nance (Clemson), Augusta Stratos (Virginia), Amanda Chase (Virginia), Bridget Fowler (Virginia), Laura Cordner (Miami), Emily Wingrove (Miami), Tracy Maciolek (Boston College), Laura Harvey (Boston College), Lesley King (Duke), Megan McMulin (North Carolina)

ACC Crew of the Year ¬- Clemson Varsity 8+
Carla Englund (c), Jessica Leidecker (8th), Meg Bendik (7th), Liz Robb (6th), Michelle Nance (5th), Stefanie Kozuszek (4th), Grace Wolff (3rd), Brittany Cummings (2nd), Hilary Cumbest (1st)

ACC Coach of the Year
Richard Ruggieri (Clemson)

ACC Freshman of the Year
Martha Kuzzy (Virginia)