Palmquist Named to Golden Spikes Award Preseason Watch List

Palmquist Named to Golden Spikes Award Preseason Watch List

CORAL GABLES, Fla. — University of Miami left-handed pitcher Carson Palmquist was named to the preseason Golden Spikes Award watch list, USA Baseball announced Tuesday, beginning the process of identifying the top amateur baseball player in the country for the 2022 season.

The preseason watch list features 55 of the nation’s best amateur players from high school and college baseball. The Golden Spikes Award Advisory Board will maintain a rolling list of players, allowing athletes to play themselves into consideration for the award throughout the season.

“We could not be more excited to kick off the amateur baseball season with the announcement of the fifty-five-player Golden Spikes Award preseason watch list,” said Paul Seiler, Executive Director/CEO of USA Baseball. “The athletes on this year’s initial watch list represent a tremendous amount of talent and character. We are looking forward to watching their journeys unfold during what is sure to be one of the most thrilling and competitive seasons of amateur baseball to date.”

Palmquist is one of the premier arms in college baseball entering the 2022 season.

A consensus preseason All-American, Palmquist received first-team recognition by Baseball America, Perfect Game and the NCBWA and second-team distinction by D1Baseball and Collegiate Baseball.

The 6-foot-3, 185-pound southpaw is considered among the top prospects in the 2022 MLB Draft class. Palmquist has been a lockdown arm in his two years at The U, recording a 2.24 ERA with 90 strikeouts over 56 1/3 innings. Last season, the Fort Myers, Fla., native tallied 14 saves, which ranked third in the nation.

Palmquist earned first-team All-America status from the NCBWA and Perfect Game and second-team accolades from Baseball America and D1Baseball.

The Stopper of the Year Award finalist represented his country as a member of USA Baseball’s Collegiate National Team in 2021.

Miami has had 14 different players named to the preseason Golden Spikes Award watch list since 2008. Chris Hernandez (2009-10), Zack Collins (2015-16) and Adrian Del Castillo (2020-21) each were two-time selections, while Yonder Alonso (2008), Jemile Weeks (2008), Ryan Jackson (2009), Yasmani Grandal (2010) Harold Martinez (2011), Peter O’Brien (2012), Andrew Suarez (2015), Carl Chester (2017), Chris McMahon (2020) and Alex Toral (2021) preceded Palmquist as preseason honorees.

Fan voting will once again play a part in the Golden Spikes Award in 2022. Amateur baseball fans will be able to vote for their favorite players on, starting on May 24 with the naming of the Golden Spikes Award semifinalists. USA Baseball will announce the finalists for the award on June 8 and fan voting will open at concurrently, remaining open through June 12.

The winner of the 44th Golden Spikes Award will be named early this summer. To stay up-to-date on the 2021 Golden Spikes Award visit and follow @USAGoldenSpikes on Twitter and Instagram.

The 2022 Golden Spikes Award timeline:

April 5: USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award midseason watch list announced

May 24: USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award semifinalists announced, fan voting begins

May 29: USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award semifinalists fan voting ends

June 8: USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists announced, fan voting begins

June 12: USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists fan voting ends

A complete list of the 55-player USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award preseason watch list is as follows:

Name; Position; School; Conference

Hunter Barco; LHP; Florida; Southeastern Conference

Dylan Beavers; OF; California; Pac-12 Conference

Jordan Beck; OF; Tennessee; Southeastern Conference

Jacob Berry; INF; LSU; Southeastern Conference

Enrique Bradfield; OF; Vanderbilt; Southeastern Conference

Justin Campbell; RHP/DH; Oklahoma State; Big 12 Conference

Cam Collier; INF/RHP; Chipola; Panhandle Conference

Dylan Crews; OF; LSU; Southeastern Conference

Gavin Cross; OF; Virginia Tech; Atlantic Coast Conference

Chase DeLauter; OF/LHP; James Madison; Colonial Athletic Association

Hayden Dunhurst; C; Ole Miss; Southeastern Conference

Jud Fabian; OF; Florida; Southeastern Conference

Jacob Gonzalez; INF; Ole Miss; Southeastern Conference

Peyton Graham; INF; Oklahoma; Big 12 Conference

Elijah Green; OF; IMG Academy

Caden Grice; 1B/LHP; Clemson; Atlantic Coast Conference

Pete Hansen; LHP; Texas; Big 12 Conference

Devereaux Harrison; RHP; Long Beach St.; Big West Conference

Sam Highfill; RHP/INF; NC State; Atlantic Coast Conference

Ty Hill; UTL; Jackson State; Southwestern Athletic Conference

Gabriel Hughes; RHP; Gonzaga; West Coast Conference

Termarr Johnson; INF; Mays High School

Brock Jones; OF; Stanford; Pac-12 Conference

Druw Jones; OF; Wesleyan High School

Jace Jung; INF; Texas Tech; Big 12 Conference

Austin Knight; INF; Charlotte; Conference USA

Brooks Lee; SS; Cal Poly; Big West Conference

Dylan Lesko; RHP; Buford High School

Tyler Locklear; INF; VCU; Atlantic 10 Conference

Ethan Long; INF; Arizona St.; Pac-12 Conference

Nick Maldonado; RHP; Vanderbilt; Southeastern Conference

Haydn McGeary; C; Colorado Mesa; Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference

Jared McKenzie; OF; Baylor; Big 12 Conference

Sean McLain; INF; Arizona St.; Pac-12 Conference

Parker Messick; LHP; Florida State; Atlantic Coast Conference

Robert Moore; INF; Arkansas; Southeastern Conference

Tre’ Morgan; 1B; LSU; Southeastern Conference

Zach Neto; RHP/INF; Campbell; Big South Conference

Carson Palmquist; LHP; Miami; Atlantic Coast Conference

Kevin Parada; C; Georgia Tech; Atlantic Coast Conference

Max Rajcic; RHP; UCLA; Pac-12 Conference

Ryan Ritter; INF; Kentucky; Southeastern Conference

Cam Schlittler; RHP; Northeastern; Colonial Athletic Association

Landon Sims; RHP; Mississippi State; Southeastern Conference

Paul Skenes; C/RHP; Air Force; Mountain West Conference

Jordan Sprinkle; INF; UC-Santa Barbara; Big West Conference

Daniel Susac; C; Arizona; Pac-12 Conference

Logan Tanner; C; Mississippi State; Southeastern Conference

Andrew Taylor; RHP; Central Michigan; Mid-American Conference

Kyle Teel; C/UTL; Virginia; Atlantic Coast Conference

Cayden Wallace; INF/OF; Arkansas; Southeastern Conference

Carson Whisenhunt; LHP; East Carolina; American Athletic Conference

Josh White; RHP; California; Pac-12 Conference

Brock Wilken; INF/C; Wake Forest; Atlantic Coast Conference

Tanner Witt; RHP; Texas; Big 12 Conference