Miami Alumni Team Selected for The Basketball Tournament

Miami Alumni Team Selected for The Basketball Tournament

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – For the first time, a University of Miami alumni team will be competing in The Basketball Tournament (TBT), as announced Monday afternoon.

A $1 million, winner-take-all summer basketball event broadcast live on ESPN networks, TBT features 64 teams and is entering its eighth year.

Dubbed “Category 5,” the Miami alumni team will compete in the Columbus Regional, which is set to take place at the Covelli Center from July 23-27.

The current 10-player roster features six individuals who took the court for Miami during their college careers: Malcolm Grant (2009-12), Durand Scott (2009-13), Rion Brown (2010-14), Davon Reed (2013-17), Kamari Murphy (2015-17) and Zach Johnson (2018-19).

The team organizer is Chaisson Allen, a former Miami graduate assistant and player development assistant, while the coaches are former Miami graduate assistants Micah Fraction and Ryan Kardok.

Seeded No. 10 in its region, Category 5 will square off against seventh-seeded Wolf Blood, a team of NC State alumni. Action is slated for July 24 at 1 p.m. The winning side will face either Red Scare—a group of Dayton alumni—or BC Vahakni City the following day at 2 p.m.

Regional final-round games are scheduled for July 27, with times announced at a later time. All television broadcast information will be announced soon.

Two teams from each of the four regions advance to Championship Weekend, which is slated for July 31-Aug. 3 at UD Arena in Dayton, Ohio.

For more information on Category 5 and the 2021 TBT, click HERE to visit the official tournament website.

To keep up with the University of Miami men’s basketball team on social media, follow @CanesHoops on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.