Radziewski Honored With Rawlings All-America

Radziewski Honored With Rawlings All-America

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Redshirt sophomore Bryan Radziewski was among those recognized with Rawlings/American Baseball Coaches Association All-America honors Tuesday.

Radziewski, who captured first-team ABCA All-Region honors earlier in the week, earned a place on the third team for the second All-American recognition of his career. The southpaw was named to the 2013 Louisville Slugger All-America second team in late May to become Miami’s first All-American since 2010.

The Miami, Fla., native returned from 2012 season-ending shoulder surgery to deliver one of the most dominant campaigns nationwide this past spring. Radziewski, who was also named first-team All-ACC, finished with a 9-3 record and registered a miniscule 1.78 ERA, the third-lowest mark in the conference. He struck out 109 batters in 91.0 innings, and was one of just three ACC pitchers to average over 10 strikeouts per nine innings (10.78).

“Coming off of surgery, it is an incredible blessing to receive such a prestigious honor,” Radziewski said. “It’s a testament to the hard work I put in and the faith I had in the offseason.”

In his first start in the weekend rotation against Virginia Tech, Radziewski struck out 16 batters – just three shy of the conference single-game record – in one of two complete-game shutouts on the year. He struck out 10 or more batters four times, improved his career record to 20-5 and lowered his career ERA to 2.63.

For his impressive season, the 2011 Baseball America Freshman All-American was also one of 60 players named to the watch list for the 2013 Golden Spikes Award, annually honoring the top collegiate baseball player in the nation. Radziewski was drafted in the 29th round (No. 875 overall) of the 2013 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft by the St. Louis Cardinals.

To view the full Rawlings/ABCA All-American teams, click HERE.

 1974  Orlando Gonzalez, 1B (first team)
   Stan Jakubowski, P (first team)
 1975  Wayne Krenchicki, SS (first team)
 1976  Gavin Long, P (first team)
 1977  Rick Montoni, OF (first team)
 1980  Neal Heaton, P (first team)
 1981  Neal Heaton, P (first team)
 1988  Mike Fiore, OF (first team)
 1992  Jeff Alkire, P (first team)
 1994  Dany Graves, P (first team)
 1996  Pat Burrell, 3B (first team)
 1997  Pat Burrell, 3B (first team)
 1998  Alex Santos, P (first team)
 2004  Jim Burt, 1B (third team)
 2005  Ryan Braun, 3B (second team)
   Cesar Carrillo, P (second team)
 2008  Jemile Weeks, 2B (first team)
   Chris Hernandez, P (first team)
   Yonder Alonso, 1B (second team)
   Ryan Jackson, SS (third team)
 2009  Kyle Bellamy, P (second team)
 2010  Yasmani Grandal, C (first team)
 2013  Bryan Radziewski, P (third team)