Women’s Basketball vs. Florida this Sunday!


Close Topbar
Allen Named to ACC All-Academic Men's Basketball Team

Allen Named to ACC All-Academic Men's Basketball Team

March 3, 2010

Coral Gables, Fla. – University of Miami freshman guard Antoine Allen was named to the 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Men’s Basketball Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Allen was among a group of 12 – including five freshmen – to earn the recognition this season, requiring a student-athlete to earn a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintain a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

A broadcast journalism major, the Baltimore-native is the eighth Hurricane to earn ACC All-Academic Team recognition since 2006. Miami trails only Duke, who has had nine players named to the academic team over that span.

Allen has seen action in 16 games this season, averaging 3.1 points per game, while converting 41.7 percent from long range. The freshman scored a season-high nine points versus South Carolina State and has hit a pair of threes in four games this season. In addition, his seven assists versus Nova Southeastern rank among the top-five assists performances by an ACC freshman this season.

Joining Allen on the All-ACC Academic Men’s Basketball Team is Ben Boggs (Fr., Virginia Tech), CJ Harris (Fr., Wake Forest), Luke Loucks (So., Florida State), Ryan Kelly (Fr., Duke), Jerome Meyinsse (Sr., Virginia), Glen Rice, Jr. (Fr., Georgia Tech), Will Sherrill (Jr., Virginia), Tanner Smith (So., Clemson), Andre Young (So., Clemson), Tyler Zeller (So., North Carolina) and Brian Zoubek (Sr., Duke). Meyinsse, Zoubek, Smith and Zeller are repeat selections from last year’s team.