Canes Football hosts Georgia Tech for Homecoming on Saturday, Nov. 6


Close Topbar
Hurricanes Football Honors Seniors at Annual Banquet

Hurricanes Football Honors Seniors at Annual Banquet

Dec. 18, 2006

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami football program held its annual awards banquet Monday night at the Sheraton Mart Plaza Hotel in Miami. Award winners were announced for the 2006 season. Here is a list of this year’s award winners:

Award Winner
Offensive Back of the Year Javarris James
Offensive Lineman of the Year Anthony Wollschlager
Receiver of the Year Greg Olsen
Defensive Back of the Year Kenny Phillips
Defensive Lineman of the Year Kareem Brown
Linebacker of the Year Glenn Cook
Special Teams Player of the Year Willie Cooper
Strength Training Athlete of the Year Darryl Sharpton
Jessie Armstead Comeback Player of the Year Glenn Sharpe
Most Improved Offensive Player Chris Rutledge
Most Improved Defensive Player Baraka Atkins
Offensive Rookie of the Year Jason Fox
Defensive Rookie of the Year Chavez Grant
Hard Hitter Award Jon Beason
Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player Brian Monroe
Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On Award Matt Perrelli
Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award (commitment, consistency) Derrick Morse
Unselfish/Unsung Hero Brandon Meriweather
Mariutto Scholar Athlete (Academic Excellence) Anthony Wollschlager
Plumer Memorial Award (Leadership, Motivation, Spirit) Calais Campbell
Dale Melching Award (Leadership) Willie Cooper
Jack Harding Award (Team MVP) Calais Campbell

In addition, the Hurricanes honored the 11 seniors on this year’s team: DE Baraka Atkins, DT Kareem Brown, FB Mark Lisante, S Brandon Meriweather, P Brian Monroe, WR Ryan Moore, RB Tyrone Moss, PK Jon Peattie, OL Alex Pou, C Anthony Wollschlager and PK Francesco Zampogna, in addition to the late Bryan Pata.