The Canes host Michigan State on Saturday!


Close Topbar
Track Heads to Texas Tech Classic

Track Heads to Texas Tech Classic

CORAL GABLES, Fla.  –  The University of Miami track and field team will begin competition in its first of three consecutive road meets on Thursday at the three-day the Texas Tech Classic. 
The Hurricanes will face a stacked field over the three day event taking place at the Sports Performance Center. Miami (24) is one of six Top 25 women’s programs scheduled to compete alongside Texas A&M (2), Florida State (5), Southern California (7), Texas Tech (16) and NC State (25). The men will also be up against five Top 25 teams in Texas Tech (1), Florida State (3), Texas A&M (10), Baylor (16) and Southern California (22). 
The Canes return to action after boasting program records and personal bests in the indoor opener at the UAB Blazer Invite and will look to continue building momentum before traveling to Blacksburg, Va., next weekend. 
On the women’s side, sophomore Kayla Johnson will compete in the women’s 800m and run the second leg of the 4x400m. Johnson set a program record at the UAB Blazer Invite in the 600m with a time of 1:28.31. Johnson will be joined by Brittny Ellis, Samantha Gonzalez and Symone Mason in the 4×400. 
Mason is the lone Cane competing in three events this weekend, including the 60m and the 200m. Mason will be joined by Carolyn Brown, Tia Murray and Amuru Patterson, who finished third at the UAB Blazer Invite with a time of 7.47 seconds in the 60m
Tiara McMinn is another Cane to watch this weekend after winning the 60m hurdles in the opening meet with a time of 8.28 seconds. McMinn will also compete in the high jump against Celine Thompson. 
Zakiya Rashid will make her senior indoor debut, competing in the women’s shot put. The Suffolf, Va., native will be joined by freshmen Hannah-Sophia Hall and Selina Dantzler and  junior Sherry Lubin in the event. 
Michelle Atherley and Andreas Christodoulou are the lone Canes competing in the multi events. Athlerley is set to compete in the women’s pentathlon, while Christodoulou will represent the Miami men in the heptathlon. 
On the men’s side, three Canes are set to make their 2019 indoor debut. McKinly Brown will run the third leg of the men’s 4×400, teamed with Davonte Fuller, Tyrees Moulton and Thomas Burns. Raheem Chambers will make his first appearance in the Canes uniform, competing in the men’s 60m dash, and Dylan Sykes will be the lone UM representative in the 3000m. 
Fuller will look to build off his standout performance in the 600m at UAB and will also compete in the 400m along with the 4×400. 
Live streaming of this weekend’s events can be found here, while live results can be found here.
After the Texas Tech Classic, the Canes return to the road for the Virginia Tech “Doc Hale” Elite Meet on Feb. 1-2. 
For all the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow the official Twitter feed, @MiamiHurricanes, or “Like Us” on Facebook at Follow @CanesTrack on Twitter for specific news on UM track and field and cross country. The program is also on Instagram.  
Miami Entries for Texas Tech Classic: 
60m: Raheem Chambers, Christopher Moree, Chauncy Smart, Isaiah Taylor 
400m: Luca Bhalla, Thomas Burns, Davonte Fuller, Paul Spada 
600m: Matthew Wiefels
3000m: Dylan Sykes
4x400m: McKinly Brown, Thomas Burns, Davonte Fuller, Tyrees Moulton
One Mile: Matthew Wiefels 
60m HH: Xavier Coakley 
Heptathlon: Andreas Christodoulou
Weight Throw: Kevin Arreaga 
60m: Carolyn Brown, Symone Mason, Tia Murray, Amuru Patterson 
200m: Symone Mason, Tia Murray 
400m: Brittny Ellis, Samantha Gonzalez, Anna Runia 
600m: Anne den Otter
800m: Kayla Johnson
4x400m: Brittny Ellis, Samantha Gonzalez, Kayla Johnson, Symone Mason 
60m HH: Tiara McMinn
One Mile: Anne den Otter
High Jump: Tiara McMinn, Celine Thompson 
Long Jump: Darlene Charles
Triple Jump: Darlene Charles, Peyton Russell 
Pole Vault: Molly Caudery 
Shot Put: Debbie Ajagbe, Selina Dantzler, Hannah-Sophia Hall, Sherry Lubin, Zakiya Rashid
Weight Throw: Debbie Ajagbe, Hannah-Sophia Hall, Sherry Lubin
Pentathlon: Michelle Atherley