Football individual game tickets are now available! Buy now ➡️

Close Topbar
Hurricanes Hold Annual Football Awards Show

Hurricanes Hold Annual Football Awards Show

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The Miami Hurricanes football team hosted the 2018 Football Awards Show at Gusman Hall on the University of Miami campus Saturday night.

Below is a list of the award winners honored during the ceremony.

Mariutto Family Scholar-Athlete Award – WR Elias Lugo-Fagundo
Scout Team Player of the Year – WR Marshall Few (offense), DB James Murphy (defense), LB Colvin Alford (special teams)
Strength Training Athlete of the Year – RB Trayone Gray (offense), DL Pat Bethel (defense), DL Gerald Willis III (defense)
Training Room Comeback Player of the Year – LB Demetrius Jackson
Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award – WR Dee Wiggins, DL Pat Bethel
Community Service Man of the Year Award – DL Demetrius Jackson, DB Jaquan Johnson
Offensive Newcomers of the Year – TE Brevin Jordan, OL DJ Scaife, Jr.
Defensive Newcomer of the Year – DL Tito Odenigbo
Special Teams Newcomer of the Year – DB Al Blades, Jr.
Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On – DB James Murphy (defense), P Jack Spicer (special teams)
Kelly UTough Award – OL Tyler Gauthier (offense), DL Joe Jackson (defense)
Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player – QB N’Kosi Perry (offense), DB Romeo Finley (defense), DB Jhavonte Dean (special teams)
University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame Unsung Hero Award – WR Mike Harley (offense), DB Sheldrick Redwine (defense), LS Jordan Butler (special teams)
Miami Touchdown Club R. Dale Melching Leadership Award – RB Travis Homer (offense), LB Zach McCloud (defense), LB Shaquille Quarterman (defense)
Christopher Plumer Memorial Award (Leadership, Motivation, Spirit) – RB DeeJay Dallas, LB Michael Pinckney
Hard Hitter Award – OL Navaughn Donaldson (offense), LB Zach McCloud (defense)
Victors Club – DB Trajan Bandy, DB Romeo Finley, DL Jonathan Garvin, OL Tyler Gauthier, RB Travis Homer, DL Joe Jackson, DB Jaquan Johnson, LB Zach McCloud, LB Michael Pinckney, LB Shaquille Quarterman, DB Sheldrick Redwine, DL Gerald Willis III
2018 Captains’ Awards – RB Travis Homer, DL Gerald Willis III, LB Shaquille Quarterman, DB James Murphy, DB Jaquan Johnson
Special Teams Most Valuable Player – RB DeeJay Dallas
Offensive Most Valuable Player – RB Travis Homer
Defensive Most Valuable Player – DB Jaquan Johnson
Jack Harding Award (Most Valuable Player) – DL Gerald Willis III