Miami leads the Nation with the Most Former Players Selected for 2011 Pro Bowl

Dec. 30, 2010

2011 NFL Pro Bowl Rosters | UM Pro Bowl History

For the fifth consecutive season, the University of Miami has more former Hurricanes on the National Football League’s (NFL) Pro Bowl rosters than any school in the nation.

Miami easily outdistanced the University of Tennessee for the most former players to earn the NFL recognition as eight `Canes were elected.  The Volunteers had five former players on the Pro Bowl rosters. 

In fact, Miami has more players in the Pro Bowl than the entire Big 12 (seven players), Pac 10 (7) and Big East (4).

Michigan, Cal and Virginia Tech were the only other schools with at least three former players named to the rosters.

The 2011 Pro Bowl teams are filled with eight `Canes and headlined by AFC starters Andre Johnson (Texans), Reggie Wayne (Colts), Ray Lewis (Ravens), Ed Reed (Ravens) and Vince Wilfork (Patriots).  Also joining their fellow alums in pro football’s all-star game are Antrell Rolle (Giants), Brandon Meriweather (Patriots) and Devin Hester (Bears).

Last season UM placed a program-record 11 players on the Pro Bowl rosters and has had at least five players elected on nine occasions since 1999.

Lewis has been named to the Pro Bowl in 11 of the last 13 seasons, including five straight. Wayne and Reed have also been named to five straight Pro Bowls. Fellow starter Johnson has been in four of the last five, while rising NFL stars Meriweather, Rolle and Wilfork have been in the last two.

The Pro Bowl will be played on January 30, 2011 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawai`i, and be broadcast by Fox.