The Ring Of Honor

The Ring of Honor was established during the 1997 season as a way to recognize the outstanding players that have passed through the Hurricane Football Program.

“There have been so many great players that have played at the University of Miami,” commented former Head Coach Butch Davis, “that if we retired all their jerseys, we would not have enough numbers left to outfit a team, and would have to issue players triple digit jerseys.”

Left: Sebastian the Ibis, George Mira,
Ted Hendricks, Jim Dooley and
Athletic Director Paul Dee.

Names will be added to the Ring of Honor on a regular basis by either decade or position played. Those names and their jersey numbers will be permanently affixed for display on the face of the Orange Bowl’s upper deck.

The first four inductees were the only Hurricane players to have their jersey’s retired. Their names were unveiled on November 1, 1997, during halftime of the Miami vs. Arkansas State game.

1997 inductees: Jim Dooley, Ted Hendricks, George Mira and Vinny Testaverde.

1999 inductees: Ottis Anderson, Don Bosseler, Bernie Kosar and Burgess Owens.

2008 inductees: Edgerrin James, Jim Kelly, Cortez Kennedy, Jim Otto and Gino Torretta.

2009 inductees: Bennie Blades, Eddie Dunn and Steve Walsh.

2014 inductees: Jerome Brown and Russell Maryland.