Vallée, Ableman Earn ACC Annual Awards

Vallée, Ableman Earn ACC Annual Awards

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – University of Miami diver Mia Vallée and head coach Randy Ableman were among those highlighting the ACC’s yearly award winners for the 2021-2022 Swimming & Diving Season.

The honors were determined by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Vallée was named the ACC Women’s Diver of the Year, while  Ableman was named the ACC Men’s and Women’s Diving Coach of the Year, becoming the first coach to sweep the diving coach honors twice in a career. Ableman also won both awards in 2019.

Vallée won the NCAA championship in the 1-meter springboard with an NCAA Championships record score of 365.756. She also tied for fourth place in the 3-meter event and earned CSCAA First-Team All-America honors in both competitions. The native of Montreal, Quebec, won two medals at the ACC Championships, taking the gold in the 3-meter and silver in the 1-meter.

Ableman earned ACC Men’s Diving Coach of the Year honors for the fifth time and women’s laurels for the fourth time. Miami divers earned five All-Americans with three on the women’s side and two on the men’s side. Miami also claimed three titles at the ACC Championships, as Zach Cooper notched the men’s platform crown, Max Flory won the men’s 3-meter and Vallée claimed the women’s 3-meter.

2021-22 ACC Swimming & Diving Annual Awards
Women’s Swimmer of the Year: Kate Douglass, Virginia
Men’s Swimmer of the Year: Nicolas Albiero, Louisville
Women’s Diver of the Year: Mia Vallée, Miami
Men’s Diver of the Year: Anton Down-Jenkins, North Carolina
Women’s Freshman of the Year: Gretchen Walsh, Virginia
Men’s Freshman of the Year: Aiden Hayes, NC State
Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Todd DeSorbo, Virginia
Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Braden Holloway, NC State
Men’s and Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Randy Ableman, Miami