Football individual game tickets are now available! Buy now ➡️

Close Topbar
Dream Begins in Dallas

Dream Begins in Dallas

BROOKLYN, N.Y. – Miami Hurricanes All-America point guard Shane Larkin has been traded to the Dallas Mavericks after being selected with the No. 18 overall pick by the Atlanta Hawks during Thursday’s 2013 NBA Draft at Barclays Center. The Mavericks are coached by Rick Carlisle, who was recruited by and played under Larrañaga at Virginia from 1982-84.

Shane Larkin going to Dallas is absolutely great,” said Miami head coach Jim Larrañaga. “Rick Carlisle is a World Championship coach and one of my former players. He will love Shane and so will his teammates.”

Larkin, who was at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y., for the event, is the 19th Hurricane to be selected in the NBA Draft, and the first player since 2010, when Dwayne Collins was picked by the Phoenix Suns 60th overall (second round). John Salmons was UM’s last first round pick, the 26th selection by the San Antonio Spurs in 2002.

With the No. 18 selection, Larkin becomes UM’s second-highest draft pick, following Rick Barry’s second overall selection to the San Francisco Warriors in 1965, and just ahead of Mike McCoy, who was picked 21st overall by the Detroit Pistons in 1963. In the recent era, Tim James was selected 25th overall by the Miami Heat in 1999.

“We are very excited for Shane and his family,” said Larrañaga at the time of the selection by Atlanta. “He is going to make his coach very happy. Shane is a great competitor. He loves to win and has all the physical and mental skills to succeed in the NBA.”

In his sophomore season at Miami, Larkin helped the Canes to the ACC regular season title and ACC tournament title, both firsts for the program. UM earned a No. 2 seed in the NCAA tournament and made a run into the Sweet 16. Larkin led the Canes in scoring (14.5 ppg), points (522), assists (164), steals (71) and 3-point percentage (40.6%).

He was listed as a second-team All-America (AP, NABC, ESPN), John Wooden All-America, third-team All-America (Sporting News), Lute Olson All-America, Lefty Driesell Defensive All-American and named to the USBWA All-District IV Team. Larkin was ACC Player of the Year (Coaches, Sports Illustrated, ESPN), All-ACC first team (ASCMA, Coaches, ESPN) and All-ACC Defensive Team (ASCMA, Coaches). He was named ACC Tournament MVP and ACC All-Tournament first team after leading the Canes to the championship, while averaging 23.7 ppg over the three-game stretch.

Player Team Year Round-Overall pick
Dick Miani New York Knicks 1956 Knicks’ 10th selection
Mike McCoy Detroit Pistons 1963 3rd Round-21st overall
Rick Barry San Francisco Warriors 1965 1st Round-2nd overall
Mike Wittman St. Louis Hawks 1967 5th Round-49th overall
Rusty Parker Atlanta Hawks 1968 5th Round-61st overall
Bill Soens Philadelphia 76ers 1968 11th Round-145th overall
Don Curnutt New York Knicks 1970 10th Round-170th overall
Wayne Canady Portland Trail Blazers 1970 15th Round-218th overall
Willie Allen Baltimore Bullets 1971 4th Round-60th overall
Tito Horford Milwaukee Bucks 1988 2nd Round-39th overall
Joe Wylie Los Angeles Clippers 1991 2nd Round-38th overall
Constantin Popa Los Angeles Clippers 1995 2nd Round-53rd overall
Tim James Miami Heat 1999 1st Round-25th overall
John Salmons San Antonio Spurs 2002 1st Round-26th overall
James Jones Indiana Pacers 2003 2nd Round-49th overall
Guillermo Diaz Los Angeles Clippers 2006 2nd Round-52nd overall
Jack McClinton San Antonio Spurs 2009 2nd Round-51st overall
Dwayne Collins Phoenix Suns 2010 2nd Round-60th overall
Shane Larkin Atlanta Hawks 2013 1st Round-18th overall