Two Canes on CFPA Defensive Watch Lists

Two Canes on CFPA Defensive Watch Lists

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Miami Hurricanes junior LB Denzel Perryman and junior DE Anthony Chickillo were both named to a 2013 CFPA Defensive Awards Watch List, the College Football Performance Awards announced Monday.

Chickillo earned a spot on the 2013 CFPA Defensive Lineman Trophy Watch List, while Perryman earned a spot on the 2013 CFPA Linebacker Trophy Watch List.

Earlier this month, QB Stephen Morris, RB Duke Johnson and TE Clive Walford were named to the 2013 CFPA Offensive Awards Watch List. Former Miami star Leonard Hankerson earned the CFPA Elite Wide Receiver Trophy after a stellar 2010 season.

Chickillo was one of six Hurricanes to earn All-ACC honorable mention from the league coaches. Chickillo tallied 45 tackles, 6.5 tackles for loss and 4.0 sacks as a sophomore last season. Perryman played in nine games, making six starts mostly at middle linebacker. A third-team All-ACC pick by Phil Steele, Perryman finished second on the team with 64 total tackles and added 6.0 tackles for loss.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. The full list of 2013 CFPA recipients will be announced Jan. 8, 2014.  For more information on CFPA, visit the official CFPA web site or follow CFPA on Twitter, @CFPerformance.For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter, @MiamiHurricanes, and check out the official football blog,