McGusty Tabbed an AP First Team All-ACC Honoree

McGusty Tabbed an AP First Team All-ACC Honoree

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Kameron McGusty of the University of Miami men’s basketball team earned Associated Press First Team All-ACC distinction, as announced Tuesday afternoon.

It is the second first-team plaudit for McGusty in as many days, as he also garnered the same award Monday morning in the official ACC balloting.

The Associated Press honors are selected by a voting panel that consists of 15 journalists covering the ACC regional footprint.

McGusty concluded the regular season third in the ACC in steals (1.8), co-third in made free throws (116), fourth in scoring (17.5), fifth in free-throw percentage (82.9), co-sixth in 20-point games (11), co-seventh in made field goals (186), No. 11 in field-goal percentage (47.4) and tied for No. 12 in double-doubles (five).

A native of Katy, Texas, McGusty scored in double figures in 29 of 31 games during the regular season, including of the final 26. He reached 15-plus in 22 outings and scored 27-plus on three occasions.

McGusty is the one of just three Division I players, including the only one from a Power Five league, averaging 17-plus point while shooting at least 47 percent from the field, 36 percent beyond the arc and 82 percent at the line.

The entire list of Associated Press All-ACC designees can be found HERE.

Fourth-seeded Miami opens ACC Tournament action Thursday at 2:30 p.m. in the quarterfinals versus a to-be-determined opponent, live on ESPN2 from the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y.

To keep up with the University of Miami men’s basketball team on social media, follow @CanesHoops on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

2021-22 Associated Press ACC Award Winners
Player of Year: Alondes Williams, Wake Forest
Newcomer of Year: Paolo Banchero, Duke
Coach of Year: Steve Forbes, Wake Forest

2021-22 Associated Press All-ACC Team

First Team
Alondes Williams, Wake Forest (unanimous)
Armando Bacot, North Carolina (unanimous)
Paolo Banchero, Duke
Kameron McGusty, Miami
Buddy Boeheim, Syracuse

Second Team
Wendell Moore Jr., Duke
Dereon Seabron, NC State
Mark Williams, Duke
Jayden Gardner, Virginia
Keve Aluma, Virginia Tech