Football individual game tickets are now available! Buy now ➡️

Close Topbar
Meier Shares USA Basketball COY Award

Meier Shares USA Basketball COY Award

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – University of Miami head coach Katie Meier has been named a co-recipient of the 2013 USA Basketball National Coach of the Year award  after leading the USA U19 team to a gold medal and perfect 9-0 record at the 2013 FIBA U19 World Championships. Florida men’s coach Billy Donovan was the recipient on the men’s side.

“First of all, I don’t think anyone who coaches for USA Basketball should ever receive an individual award,” Meier said. “USA Basketball is such a great organization and Carol Callan and her staff are so knowledgeable and supportive that I personally just felt blessed to be a part of it all. I’m truly honored and do consider this as the highest of awards. Thanks to USA Basketball for letting me share in their gold medal streak.”

The USA Basketball Board of Directors is responsible for selecting USA Basketball’s annual awards.

“Billy and Katie provided tremendous leadership for our U19 teams, and the results they achieved in a competition that is so challenging were impressive,” said Jim Tooley, USA Basketball CEO/Executive Director. “Not only did the U.S. teams win, but they played with passion and demonstrated great sportsmanship, and that is a credit to these two respected coaches.”

Under the direction of Meier, the USA topped its opponents by an average of 43.0 points per game during the July 18-27 U19 championship in Lithuania. She also led the USA to the Lanzarote International Invitational Tournament title with exhibition wins over Australia, Spain and Canada prior to the FIBA U19 World Championship in Lanzarote, Canary Islands.

Meier’s University of Miami team is 9-5 overall and 1-0 in the ACC. The Hurricanes host No. 18 Florida State in their ACC home opener Thursday, Jan. 9. Coach Meier will be honored before the game for her accomplishments with USA Basketball. 

Previous Award Winners
2012: Geno Auriemma, University of Connecticut & Geno Auriemma, University of Connecticut
2011: Jennifer Rizzotti, University of Hartford
2010: Geno Auriemma, University of Connecticut & Mike Krzyzewski, Duke University
2009: Jamie Dixon, University of Pittsburgh 
2008: Anne Donovan, USA Basketball & Mike Krzyzewski, Duke University
2007: Anne Donovan, Seattle Storm & Mike Krzyzewski, Duke University
2006: Mike Krzyzewski, Duke University
2005: Gail Goestenkors, Duke University
2004: Van Chancellor, Houston Comets
2003: Larry Brown, Detroit Pistons
2002: Van Chancellor, Houston Comets
2001: Jim Boeheim, Syracuse University
2000: Nell Fortner, USA Basketball
1999: Larry Brown, Philadelphia 76ers
1998: Clem Haskins, University of Minnesota
1997: Mo McHone, Sioux Falls Skyforce
1996: Tara VanDerveer, Stanford University