Hurricanes Football: Jack Harding MVP Award

Each season the players and coaches of the University of Miami football team select a most valuable player, to be awarded the Jack Harding MVP Award at the annual football banquet. Presented since 1964, this honor is the highest performance-based award a Hurricanes player can attain from his teammates.

The award is named for former UM head coach and athletic director Jack Harding, who coached the Hurricanes’ football team from 1937-42 and 1945-47. Harding relinquished his coaching duties after the 1947 season and took over as athletic director, a post he held until his death in 1963. As football coach, Harding oversaw the program’s rise into a major program. His 1938 team was his best, traveling to Gainesville and handing Florida an upset loss in the first meeting between the schools.

His teams posted major intersectional wins over Michigan State, Auburn, NC State, Clemson and Florida that put Miami football “on the map.” A graduate of the University of Pittsburgh, Harding was an accomplished athlete in his own right, lettering in football for legendary coaches Glenn “Pop” Warner and Jock Sutherland, in addition to earning varsity letters in baseball and basketball.

1963  George Mira, QB
1964  Robert J. Brown, T
1965  Ed Weisacosky, DE
1966  Tom Beier, DB
1967  Jimmy Cox, SE
1968  Ted Hendricks, DE
1969  Dick Sorensen, LB
1970  Tom Turchetta, G
1971  Mike Riley, LB
1972  Chuck Foreman, RB/F
1973  Tony Cristiani, G
1974  Rich Griffiths, LB
1975  Steadman Scavella, DE
1976  Eddie Edwards, DT
1977  Don Smith, DT
1978  Ottis Anderson, RB
1979  Gene Coleman, DB
1980  Mike Goedeker, DE
1981  Jim Kelly, QB
1982  Jay Brophy, LB
1983  Glenn Dennison, TE
1984  Bernie Kosar, QB
1985  Vinny Testaverde, QB
1986  Vinny Testaverde, QB
1987  Steve Walsh, QB
1988  Steve Walsh, QB
1989  Cortez Kennedy, DT
1990  Russell Maryland, DT
1991  Carlos Huerta, PK
1992  Micheal Barrow, LB; Gino Torretta, QB
1993  Kevin Patrick, DE
1994  Warren Sapp, DT
1995  Ray Lewis, LB
1996  Tremain Mack, S
1997  Edgerrin James, RB
1998  Scott Covington, QB
1999  Daniel “Bubba” Franks, TE
2000  Dan Morgan, LB; Santana Moss, WR/PR
2001  Ken Dorsey, QB; Ed Reed, S
2002  Ken Dorsey, QB
2003  Sean Taylor, S
2004  Brock Berlin, QB
2005  Eric Winston, OT
2006  Calais Campbell, DE
2007  Darnell Jenkins, WR
2008  Matt Bosher, P/K
2009  Jason Fox (Offense); Darryl Sharpton (Defense)
2010  Leonard Hankerson (Offense); Sean Spence (Defense)
2011  Senior Class
2012  Mike James, RB
2013  Allen Hurns, WR
2014  Duke Johnson, RB
2015  Brad Kaaya, QB
2016  Mark Walton, RB
2017  Jaquan Johnson, DB
2018  Gerald Willis III, DL