Miami Celebrates Season at Annual Women's Basketball Banquet

April 13, 2011


CORAL GABLES, Fla.  – Several Hurricanes took home team honors in front of the largest crowd ever for the annual Women’s Basketball Postseason Banquet Tuesday night at the BankUnited Center’s Hurricane 100 Room.

Among the honors handed out was the Team MVP sponsored by Barbara Levenson, given to junior guard Shenise Johnson. The Rochester, N.Y. was named the ACC Player of the Year this season and was elected to four different All-America teams.

Pahokee, Fla. native Riquna Williams had an award that was created solely for her, the Most Oustanding Performances award, it was accompanied by a highlight video featuring the awe-inspiring plays from her junior season.

Stefanie Yderstrom took home the team’s Most Improved Player honor after coach Katie Meier gave examples of her gritty play and clutch three-point shots throughout the season from the sophomore out of Sweden.

The evening’s festivities came to a close after emcee Joe Zagacki thanked the crowd of over 100 loyal supporters and announced that every player from the team would be returning from a squad that won an ACC regular season championship, advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament and reached a No. 10 national ranking – the highest since spot in the polls since 1992.

2010-11 Miami Women’s Basketball Award Winners
Team Captains – Sylvia Bullock, Shenise Johnson, Riquna Williams
Academic Award – Stefanie Yderstrom
Strongest Player Award – Sylvia Bullock
Assist Leader – Shenise Johnson
Windex Award (Rebounds) – Shenise Johnson and Morgan Stroman
Most Intense Player – Morgan Stroman
Most Improved Player – Stefanie Yderstrom
Most Outstanding Performances – Riquna Williams
Barbara Levenson Most Valuable Player – Shenise Johnson