UM's Tamara James Named to All-ACC First Team

UM's Tamara James Named to All-ACC First Team

March 1, 2005

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami women’s basketball team’s Tamara James was named to the 2005 All-ACC First Team as voted on the Atlantic Coast Conference Sports Media Association announced Tuesday by the Atlantic Coast Conference.

James, a junior forward from Dania, Fla., led the ACC in scoring throughout the regular season in the Hurricanes’ inaugural season in the ACC, averaging 22.9 points per game which also ranked second nationally.

She recorded more 20-point games (17) and more 30-point games (5) than any other player in the ACC this season and was the only player in the league to score in double figures in every game.

She finished the regular season ranked 14th in the ACC in rebounding with 6.6 rebounds per game, fifth in steals with 2.56 per game and 10th in field goal percentage (.484) and free throw percentage (.781).

With 59 votes, James received the second-most first team votes in the league behind Duke’s Monique Currie, who was the ACC’s only unanimous first team selection with 74 first team votes.

In addition to James and Currie, also included on the first team were Ivory Latta of North Carolina, Shay Doron of Maryland and Roneeka Hodges of Florida State.

The All-ACC honor marks the third all-conference accolade for James, who was named to the All-BIG EAST First Team in 2004 and the All-BIG EAST Second Team in 2003.

2005 All-ACC Women’s Basketball Team

All-ACC (1st Team Votes)

First Team
Monique Currie, Duke*
Tamara James, Miami
Ivory Latta, North Carolina
Shay Doron, Maryland
Roneeka Hodges, Florida State
*unanimous First Team selection

Second Team
Crystal Langhorne, Maryland
Erlana Larkins, North Carolina
LaTonya Blue, Virginia
Liz Strunk, Wake Forest
Tiffany Stansbury, NC State

Third Team
Mistie Williams, Duke
Cotelia Bond-Young. Wake Forest
Billie McDowell, NC State
Camille Little, North Carolina
Jessica Foley, Duke

Honorable Mention
Kerri Gardin, Virginia Tech
Alicia Gladden, Florida State
Ganiyat Adeduntan, Florida State
Stephanie Higgs, Georgia Tech
La’Tangela Atkinson, North Carolina