Football individual game tickets are now available! Buy now ➡️

Close Topbar

Four Hurricanes Named All-America

Dec. 5, 2000

Coral Gables, Fla. ( — – Led by BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year and Bronko Nagurski Trophy recipient Dan Morgan, a total of four Hurricanes were named to the postseason All-American team. Joining Morgan on the CNNSI All-American team were punt return specialist Santana Moss, free safety Edward Reed and offensive tackle Bryant McKinnie.

Earning honorable mention All-American by were Ken Dorsey (QB), Moss (WR), Jeremy Shockey (TE) and Joaquin Gonzalez (OT).

The All-America honor for Morgan marks his sixth of the 2000 postseason to go along with the Football Writers Association, Football News, Walter Camp Foundation, College Football News and The Sporting News. Morgan is also a finalist for the Bednarik and Butkus defensive awards, as well as Football News Defensive Player of the Year. CNNSI named Morgan one of its mid-season All-Americans following the Florida State game.

Moss, the BIG EAST Special Teams and Offensive Player of the Year, earned his fourth All-America honor for his prowess on punt returns and fifth overall on the 2000 season. The FWAA, The Sporting News and College Football News each named Moss to their All-America first teams for his return capabilities. The Walter Camp Foundation named Moss at the wide receiver position. Moss was also named to the All-BIG EAST team at both wide receiver and punt returner.

Reed earns his second All-America honor of the postseason following the FWAA. An All-BIG EAST selection in nearly every publication, Reed led the team and finished third nationally with eight interceptions.

McKinnie, also a CNNSI mid-season All-American, earns his second All-America honor following Football News. McKinnie was also named to the All-BIG EAST team, as voted on by the league coaches.