Shop Now for Father’s Day at the Hurricanes Team Store! Explore our gift guide now ➡️ Gift Guide »

Close Topbar

Miami's Dan Morgan Is Named One of 10 Butkus Award Semifinalists

Oct. 19, 2000

Orlando, Fla. – The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO) has announced the semifinalists for this year’s Butkus Award, awarded annually to the best linebacker in college football. Miami senior DAN MORGAN (Coral Springs, Fla.) is a semifinalist for the second straight year.

As of October 19, he led the BIG EAST in tackles with 12.2 per game. He has been an All-BIG EAST selection each of the last two seasons. Taylor is also among the conference’s tackle leaders with 9.2 per contest. The Butkus Award has been presented since 1985 by the DACO. The list was determined by confidential balloting of the 28-member Butkus Award Selection Committee, comprised of the nation’s foremost media members. The Selection Committee made their choices from the initial Butkus Award Watch List of 71 linebackers, announced on August 24.

On Thursday, November 9, DACO will announce the three finalists for this year’s Butkus Award at a national teleconference from the Spectators Sports Bar in the Downtown Orlando Marriott.

The 2000 Butkus Award winner will be announced at the Butkus Award Gala in Hard Rock Live on Friday, December 8. The gala will be televised nationally on Fox Sports Net.

2000 Butkus Award Semifinalists (alphabetically)

Keith Adams, Clemson

Brian Allen, Florida State

Adam Archulata, Arizona State

Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma


Carlos Polk, Nebraska

Tommy Polley, Florida State

Matt Smith, Oregon

Ben Taylor, Virginia Tech

Robert Thomas, UCLA

Eric Westmoreland, Tennessee