Football individual game tickets are now available! Buy now ➡️

Close Topbar

James Jackson Named To Doak Walker Award Candidates List

Aug. 21, 2000

CORAL GABLES, Fla. ( – University of Miami senior runningback James Jackson has been named one of 35 preseason candidates for the 2000 Doak Walker Award Presented by Vectrix, which is awarded annually to the nation’s top college runningback.

Jackson, a senior from Glades Central High School in Belle Glade, Fla., rushed for 782 yards and seven touchdowns in 1999 and has rushed for 1,947 yards in his Miami career (fifth all-time in UM history). The selection to the preseason Walker list marks the second consecutive season Jackson has made the start list for the award.

The Doak Walker Award Presented by Vectrix recognizes the nation’s top runningbacks for their excellence on the field, but also considers achievements in the classroom and community involvement in its criteria for selection. The Southwestern Bell?SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select eight semifinalists on November 8, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will ultimately vote on the winner in late November. The National Selection Committee consists of former All-Pro and All-America running backs, print and electronic media members and selected special representatives.

The winner of the 2000 Doak Walker Award Presented by Vectrix will be announced live on ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 7, 2000. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on Tuesday, January 30, 2001.

Former University of Wisconsin and running back Ron Dayne won the 1999 Doak Walker Award after becoming the NCAA’s career rushing leader with 6,397 yards.

The complete list of candidates follows:

2000 Doak Walker Award Presented by Vectrix Candidates

Jonathan Adams, Jr., Arkansas State University
Dan Alexander, Sr., University of Nebraska
David Allen, Sr., Kansas State University
Damien Anderson, Sr., Northwestern University
Ladell Betts, Sr., University of Iowa
Deon Burnett, So., Washington State University
Cedric Cobbs, So., University of Arkansas
Avon Cobourne, So., Iowa State University
Tony Fisher, Jr., University of Notre Dame
Delvon Flowers, Sr., Arizona State University
Travis Henry, Sr., University of Tennessee
Joe Igber, So., University of California, Berkeley
James Jackson, Sr., University of Miami
Cortlen Johnson, Jr., University of Colorado
LaMont Jordan, Sr., University of Maryland
Montrell Lowe, So., Purdue University
Deuce McAllister, Jr., University of Mississippi
Scotty McKay, Sr., U.S. Air Force Academy
Travis Minor, Sr., Florida State University
Hodges Mitchell, Sr., University of Texas
Larry Ned, Sr., San Diego State University
Derrick Nix, So., Univ. of Southern Mississippi
Brandon Payne, So., University of Akron
Ray Robinson, Jr., North Carolina State Univ.
Robert Sanford, Sr., Western Michigan Univ.
Ken Simonton, Jr., Oregon State University
Chester Taylor, Sr., University of Toledo
Anthony Thomas, Sr., University of Michigan
LaDainian Tomlinson, Sr., Texas Christian Univ.
Cedric Washington, Sr., Boston College
Avion Weaver, Sr., University of Hawaii
Deonce Whitaker, Sr., San Jose State University
Ja’Quay Wilburn, Sr., University of North Texas
Ricky Williams, Sr., Texas Tech University
Jamie Wilson, Sr., East Carolina University