Wong Tabbed a USBWA All-District IV Honoree

Wong Tabbed a USBWA All-District IV Honoree

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – For the first time since 2015-16, a member of the University of Miami men’s basketball team claimed United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District IV accolades, as announced Tuesday afternoon.

Fourth-year junior guard Isaiah Wong is the first Hurricane to make the cut for the elite accolade since Sheldon McClellan in 2015-16. In total, he is the third Hurricane to do so in Jim Larrañaga’s 12-year tenure, as Shane Larkin also claimed the honor in 2012-13.

Wong is one of 10 selections from schools in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi and Tennessee. In total, there are nine geographic districts with 10 players per group. The choices are made based off voting from the USBWA national membership.

The second ACC Player of the Year designee in program history, alongside Larkin, Wong also received NABC First Team All-District 2 plaudits Tuesday morning. He is a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award, the Lute Olson Award and the Jerry West Award.

A 6-foot-4, 184-pounder from Piscataway, N.J., Wong is putting up team-best averages in points (16.2), assists (3.4) and steals (1.4) per game this season. The three-time All-ACC pick is shooting 45.3 percent from the field, 37.8 percent from long range and 83.6 percent at the stripe, while also notching 4.3 boards per game for No. 16/15 Miami (25-7, 15-5 ACC).

The complete list of all 90 USBWA All-District selections across the 10 regions can be found HERE.

Wong and his fifth-seeded Miami teammates begin NCAA Tournament competition Friday at 7:25 p.m., facing No. 12-seeded Drake, live on TBS from MVP Arena in Albany, N.Y.

To keep up with the University of Miami men’s basketball team on social media, follow @CanesHoops on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

USBWA All-District IV Team
Ala., Ga., Fla., Ky., Miss., Tenn.
Johni Broome, Auburn
Colin Castleton, Florida
Kendric Davis, Memphis
Brandon Miller, Alabama
Liam Robbins, Vanderbilt
Tolu Smith, Mississippi State
Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky
Santiago Vescovi, Tennessee
Isaiah Wong, Miami
Zakai Zeigler, Tennessee

Player of the Year: Brandon Miller, Alabama
Coach of the Year:
Dusty May, Florida Atlantic