Van Dyke Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

Van Dyke Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

CORAL GABLES, Fla. University of Miami quarterback Tyler Van Dyke is on the prestigious Maxwell Award Watch List, as announced Monday morning by the Maxwell Football Club.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell, a former standout at the Swarthmore College and a renowned sports writer and football official.

A 6-foot-4, 224-pound third-year sophomore, Van Dyke is one of just 12 ACC players on the preseason list for the 86th Maxwell Award. The Glastonbury, Conn., native is also among just 16 sophomores who made the cut.

The 2021 ACC Rookie of the Year, Van Dyke threw for 2,931 yards and 25 touchdowns in just 10 games, nine of which he started. A five-time ACC Rookie of the Week, Van Dyke completed 62.3 percent of his passes, the sixth-best single-season mark in program history, and threw only five interceptions.

In addition, Van Dyke became the first Power Five quarterback since LSU’s Joe Burrow in 2019 to throw for 300-plus yards and three-plus touchdowns in six straight games.

Three Hurricanes have claimed the Maxwell Award: Vinny Testaverde in 1986, Gino Torretta in 1992 and Ken Dorsey in 2001.

To keep up with the University of Miami football team on social media, follow @CanesFootball on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.