Shop Now for Father’s Day at the Hurricanes Team Store! Explore our gift guide now ➡️ Gift Guide »

Close Topbar
WBB Hosts 2018-19 Team Banquet

WBB Hosts 2018-19 Team Banquet

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami women’s basketball team held its 2018-19 team banquet Sunday night at the Watsco Center Fieldhouse.

Players, coaches, support staff, managers, practice players and faithful fans were on hand to celebrate the Hurricanes’ outstanding campaign under the guidance of 14th-year head coach Katie Meier.

Miami finished the season at 25-9 (12-4 ACC) and ranked No. 20 in the USA TODAY Coaches Poll. The Hurricanes defeated six ranked teams, including two in the top five, en route to their 10th straight postseason berth and fifth consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance.

Along with recognizing its three outgoing seniors in Laura Cornelius, Emese Hof and Khaila Prather, Miami handed out nine awards to six different players.

Cornelius, a guard from Groningen, Netherlands, earned three trophies, taking home the Assist Leader award and sharing both the Academic Award and the Captains Award.

Hof, a forward/center out of Utrecht, Netherlands, also received three plaudits, garnering the Most Improved Player, Most Intense Player and the Defensive Lockdown Award.

The other Hurricane to earn multiple honors was redshirt junior forward Beatrice Mompremier. The Miami native won both Most Valuable Player, sponsored by Barbara Levenson, and the Windex Award as the leading rebounder.

Prather, a fifth-year forward who hails from Upper Marlboro, Md., shared the Captains Award with Cornelius.

Junior guard/forward Sarah Mortensen, a native of Copenhagen, Denmark, shared the Academic Award with Cornelius.

Endia Banks, a sophomore guard from Duluth, Ga., was the other honoree on the night, as she received the Strongest Hurricane award.

A full photo gallery from the 2018-19 Miami women’s basketball team banquet is available HERE, while a video recap can be found HERE.

To keep up with the University of Miami women’s basketball team on social media, follow @CanesWBB on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Academic Award: Laura Cornelius and Sarah Mortensen
Most Improved Player: Emese Hof
Strongest Hurricane: Endia Banks
Assists Leader: Laura Cornelius
Windex Award: Beatrice Mompremier
Defensive Lockdown Award: Emese Hof
Most Intense Player: Emese Hof
Most Valuable Player: Beatrice Mompremier
Captains Award: Laura Cornelius and Khaila Prather