The Canes host Michigan State on Saturday!


Close Topbar
Soriano Picks up a Top-Five Victory at the Miami Spring Invite

Soriano Picks up a Top-Five Victory at the Miami Spring Invite


CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Opening the second day of the Miami Spring Invite against a top-10 opponent, the University of Miami men’s tennis team closed out the morning session 3-6 in singles action against eighth-ranked Texas Saturday at the Neil Schiff Tennis Center.
In a top-25 matchup, No. 21 Adria Soriano Barrera and fourth-ranked Christian Sigsgaard of Texas exchanged blow after blow in the opening set, with Soriano coming out on top, 7-6 (7-2). In the second set, Soriano jumped in front, 4-1, before Sigsgaard rallied off five consecutive games to force a third set. In the final set, the duo continued to exchange points, with Soriano ultimately sealing the match, 7-6 (7-2), 4-6, 7-6 (7-3).
No. 35 Bojan Jankulovski faced No. 18 Yuya Ito, but was unable to gain any momentum, falling in the match, 1-6, 3-6, while freshman Kay Gore dropped his contest against Colin Markes, 6-4, 6-0.
No. 97 Francisco Bastias rallied back in the opening set to force a tiebreaker, however the freshman was unable to take down Texas senior Harrison Scott, who secured the win, 7-6 (7-2), 6-0.
Securing his second spring victory in as many attempts, freshman Franco Aubone topped Rodrigo Banzer, 6-4, 7-5.
In similar fashion to Friday’s impressive victory over Wisconsin’s Alan Sweet, sophomore William Grattan-Smith cruised past Nevin Arimilli, 6-1, 6-0.
Redshirt junior Dane Dunlap opened his match against Leonardo Telles securing the first-set tiebreaker, 7-6 (8-6), however was unable to hold on as Telles came back to win the match, 6-7 (6-8), 6-4, 7-6 (7-5). Meanwhile, sophomore Pablo Aycart Joya lost to Johnny Goodwin, 5-7, 1-6.
In the final singles match of the afternoon, Tatsuki Shimamoto went toe-to-toe with No. 103 Chih Chi Huang in a match that lasted just over three-and-a-half hours. The Miami sophomore secured the first of three tiebreakers, 7-6 (7-4). However, Huang responded with a 7-6 (7-4) victory in the second set, before securing the match, 6-7 (4-7), 7-6 (7-4), 7-6 (7-3).
In doubles action, Soriano and Gore fell against Wisconsin’s Jared Pratt and Osgar O’Hoisin, 2-8, while Dunlap and Aubone lost to Jesper Freimuth and Leonard Soha, 5-8.
In the final doubles match to conclude, Jankulovski and Bastias improved to 2-0 as a duo this spring, topping Chase Colton and Robert Krill, 8-4.
Miami will resume play at the Miami Spring Invite Sunday at 1 p.m., with the Hurricanes facing Ole Miss in singles and eighth-ranked Texas in doubles.
To keep up with the University of Miami men’s tennis team on social media, follow @CanesMensTennis on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.
No. 21 A. Soriano Barrera (University of Miami) def. No. 4 Christian Sigsgaard (Texas) 7-6 (7-2), 4-6, 7-6 (7-3)
No. 18 Yuya Ito (Texas) def. No. 35 Bojan Jankulovski (University of Miami) 6-1, 6-3
Leonardo Telles (Texas) def. Dane Dunlap (University of Miami) 6-7 (6-8), 6-4, 7-6 (7-5)
Harrison Scott (Texas) def. No. 97 Francisco Bastias (University of Miami) 7-6 (7-2), 6-0
Franco Aubone (University of Miami) def. Rodrigo Banzer (Texas) 6-4, 7-5
No. 103 Chih Chi Huang (Texas) def. Tatsuki Shimamoto (University of Miami) 6-7 (4-7), 7-6 (7-4), 7-6 (7-3)
Colin Markes (Texas) def. Kaya Gore (University of Miami) 6-4, 6-0
Johnny Goodwin (Texas) def. Pablo Aycart Joya (University of Miami) 7-5, 6-1
W. Grattan-Smith (University of Miami) def. Nevin Arimilli (Texas) 6-1, 6-0
Tim Sandkaulen (Ole Miss) def. Osgar O’Hoisin (Wisconsin) 6-2, 7-6 (7-4)
Jesper Freimuth (Wisconsin) def. Karlo Kranic (Ole Miss) 4-6, 2-2, retired
Chase Colton (Wisconsin) def. Fabian Fallert (Ole Miss) 6-2, 6-4
Cotter Wilson (Ole Miss) def. Robert Krill (Wisconsin) 6-2, 6-4
Simon Junk (Ole Miss) def. Jared Pratt (Wisconsin) 6-3, 6-4
Jan Soren Hain (Ole Miss) def. Leonard Soha (Wisconsin) 6-4, 7-6 (7-5)
Sebastian Rios (Ole Miss) def. Daniel Nuzhny (Wisconsin) 6-4, 7-6 (13-11)
Leonardo Telles/Colin Markes (Texas) def. Fabian Fallert/Tim Sandkaulen (Ole Miss) 8-6
Yuya Ito/Chih Chi Huang (Texas) def. Karlo Kranic/Filiip Kraljevic (Ole Miss) 8-4
Jan Soren Hain/Simon Junk (Ole Miss) def. Harrison Scott/Rodrigo Banzer (Texas) 8-6
Nevin Arimilli/Johnny Goodwin (Texas) def. Sebastian Rios/Cotter Wilson (Ole Miss) 8-6
Osgar O’Hoisin/Jared Pratt (Wisconsin) def. Kaya Gore/A. Soriano Barrera (University of Miami) 8-2
Jesper Freimuth/Leonard Soha (Wisconsin) def. Franco Aubone/Dane Dunlap (University of Miami) 8-5
Bojan Jankulovski/Francisco Bastias (University of Miami) def. Chase Colton/Robert Krill (Wisconsin) 8-4
9 a.m., Singles: Wisconsin vs. Texas
1 p.m., Doubles: Ole Miss vs. Wisconsin
1 p.m., Doubles: Miami vs. Texas
After, Singles: Miami vs. Ole Miss