Men's Tennis History

The University of Miami tennis program is one of the most successful in the country. The storied history of Hurricane tennis has been highlighted by one of the best dual match records in collegiate sports. Since 1930 the Hurricanes have compiled a record of 1198-455-9. In fact, from 1957-1964, the Hurricanes rolled up 137 consecutive dual match victories, one of the most impressive winning streaks in sports history.

Through the years, the Hurricanes have also produced winning streaks of 72 and 57 straight dual match victories and have fielded only six non-winning seasons since 1950. The program’s presence on a national level has been quite dominating as the Hurricanes have qualified for the NCAA Championships 29 times since the NCAA began a dual-match, single elimination team tournament in 1977.

The University of Miami tennis program officially became a member of the BIG EAST Conference in 1991 and went on to dominate the league during its tenure, winning the BIG EAST title eight times.

Miami then joined the Atlantic Coast Conference in 2004-05. The Hurricanes quickly rose to the top of the ACC ranks and in 2006, won a share of the regular-season title, while producing the league’s Coach, Player and Freshman of the Year for the first time in conference history.

Throughout its history, the Hurricanes have produced great players, collecting four NCAA Championship singles titles and producing 28 All-Americans (52 selections) including Johan Donar, Miami’s all-time singles win leader and first four-time All-American (1987-90), Luigi D’Agord (2006-07), and Daniel Vallverdu (2006-08), UM’s second four-time tennis All-American. Three players have achieved the coveted No. 1 national ranking – Francisco “Pancho” Segura in 1936 and 1937, Conny Falk in 1990 and Srjdan Muskatirovic in 1994.

Francisco “Pancho” Segura was the forerunner of the brilliant success of the program becoming one of the only two players to win three consecutive NCAA Singles Championships (1943-44-45). He captured his fourth NCAA Championship title, pairing with Thomas Burke to win the 1945 doubles championship.

All-Americans Pat Cramer and Luis Garcia brought home the second NCAA doubles title in 1970, while another All-American, Andrew Burrow, delivered the Hurricanes fourth single crown in 1987, defeating Michigan’s Dan Goldberg in the title match.