Three Divers Qualify on Day Three in Austin

Three Divers Qualify on Day Three in Austin

AUSTIN, Texas — Three University of Miami divers earned qualifying berths for championship rounds in their respective events on Day Three of the U.S. Diving Winter Nationals at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center.

One day after redshirt junior Sam Dorman turned in a dominant performance in the men’s 3-meter event, sophomore Tanner Wilfong earned a finals berth with a strong showing in men’s platform qualifying. The Hershey, Pa., native finished with 786.65 points, good for fourth place and one of 12 spots in the final round.

Pacing the women’s divers was Thea Vock, who qualified for the finals of the 3-meter with a sixth-place preliminary score of 532.35. Vock earned a bronze medal in the 1-meter finals on Day One, and continues to show no signs of slowing down after missing the 2012-13 season due to injury.

Reigning ACC Women’s Diver of the Year Kara McCormack turned in another impressive day, qualifying for finals in the 3-meter with 527.50 points. The Austin native, who had captured a silver medal in the 1-meter on Day One and qualified for the platform finals on Wednesday night, finished in seventh place.

Scores will carry over into the finals, with the national champions on the two events determined by cumulative scores from three lists of dives. Results will also be used to select teams for several 2014 international competitions.

The USA Diving Winter National Championships continue through Sunday, December 22. Friday’s competition features preliminaries in all four synchronized diving events. 


Women’s 3-meter standings after semifinals (top 12 advance to finals)

1.Maren Taylor, The University of Texas, 619.20;2. Casey Matthews, Purdue University, 576.50;3. Emma Ivory-Ganja, The University of Texas, 566.40;4. Laura Ryan, Unattached, 565.70;5. Kelsey Goodman, Florida State University Diving Team, 545.00;6. Thea Vock, University of Miami, 532.35;7. Michelle Cabassol, Purdue University, 530.35;8. Kara Mccormack, University of Miami, 527.50;9. Cassie Weil, Unattached, 526.30;10. Amanda Burke, Unattached, 513.15;11. Tarrin Gilliland, Longhorn Aquatics, 512.10;12. Kelli Stockton, H2okie Aquatics, 507.20;13. Annika Lenz, Unattached, 504.85;14. Lauren Crown, GC Diving, 501.90;15. Michaela Butler, Unattached, 495.65;16. Sine Scribbick, San Antonio Divers, 494.90;17. Lindsay Lester, University of Miami, 491.10;18. Cheyenne Cousineau, Miami Diving, 484.40;

Eliminated after preliminaries:

19. Emma Villarreal, Unattached, 240.45;20. Rachel Mumma, Unattached, 235.15;21. Alison Gibson, Team A and M Diving, 232.15;22. Mackenzie Willborn, GC Diving, 231.15;23. Kaylea Arnett, H2okie  Aquatics, 230.30;24. Rachel Rubadue, Ohio State Diving Club, 227.40;25. Meghan Houston, The University of Texas, 226.80;26. Deidre Freeman, Iowa Diving Club, 226.50;27. Brooke Schultz, Unattached, 223.30;28. Eszter Pryor, Ohio State Diving Club, 222.35;29. Olivia Ball, Ohio State Diving Club, 221.30;30. Olivia Rosendahl, Trojan Dive Club, 217.65;31. Katie Carter, Akron Rippers, 214.40;32. Emily Grund, GC Diving, 199.80;33. Carrie Dragland, Unattached, 195.10.

Men’s 10-meter  platform standings after semifinals (13 advance to finals)

1.Steele Johnson, Boiler Diving Academy, 956.45;2. David Dinsmore, Ohio State Diving Club, 831.85;3. Toby Stanley, Unattached, 802.90;4. Tanner Wilfong, University of Miami, 786.65;5. Zachary Cooper, Unattached, 783.85;6. Sean Mokhtari, Purdue University, 757.60;7. Dominic Giordano, Florida State University Diving Team, 711.65;8. Mark Anderson, The University of Texas, 689.95;9. Rafael Quintero, Unattached, 683.25;10. Ford McLiney, Unattached, 664.20;11. Will Chandler, The University of Texas, 662.65;12. Christopher Law, Unattached, 625.00;13. Ryan Hawkins, H2okie Aquatics, 605.40;14. Collin Pollard, Santa Clara Diving Club, 579.60;15. Anthony Galante, Unattached, 511.15.