Swimming & Diving

April 24, 1998

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami men’sand women’s swimming and diving teams held their annual awards banquetat the University Country Club tonight to honor the 1997-98 squads.

Head coach Sid Cassidy and diving coach Randy Ableman recognized the1998 senior class and their teammates as UM’s men’s and women’s teams bothmade trips to the 1998 NCAA Championships.

The UM men recorded a 15th-place overall finish at the NCAA Championshipsbehind a dominating performance in the diving competition. SophomoreRio Ramirez was named the NCAA Diver of the Year as he captured the one-metertitle, finished second in the three-meter and eighth in the 10-meter event.Senior Bryan Gillooly claimed the three-meter crown and placed second inthe one-meter to earn All-American status. Senior Chris Mantillafinished fifth in the 10-meter competition and 16th in the one-meter andwas named an All-American. Ableman was honored as the NCAA DivingCoach of the Year for the fourth straight year and seventh time overall.

The Hurricane women posted a 26th-place finish behind honorable mentionAll-American performances from divers Janel Benda and Jenny Keim and swimmerRhiannon Leier.

The UM swimming and diving coaches announced the following award recipients:

MVP Swimmers: Rhiannon Leier, Brett Cline and Nick Folker
MVP Divers: Janel Benda and Rio Ramirez
IBIS Award: Janel Benda, Emily Brelsford, JulieKemp, Sara Senney,
Melissa Sessoms, Tania Wallace, David Bell, Brett Cline, Nick Folker,Nelson Mora, Matthew Swift
NCAA Recognition: Janel Benda, Jenny Keim, Rhiannon Leier,Amy Lindblom,
Bryan Gillooly, Chris Mantilla, Rio Ramirez
Senior Awards: Elizabeth Ackley, Alexandra Loubeau, DorisGlenn
Easterly, David Bell, Bryan Gillooly, George Kindley, Chris Mantilla