Russell Maryland to be Honored During Ohio State Game

Sept. 13, 2011


Hurricanes in the College Football Hall of Fame
  Miami Career Year Inducted
Don Bosseler, FB 1953-1956 1990
Bennie Blades, S 1984-1987 2006
Russell Maryland, DT 1986-1990 2011
Andy Gustafson, Coach 1926-1963 1985
Arnold Tucker, QB 1943-1946 2008
Russell Maryland: Career Highlights
• 1990 Outland Trophy Winner
• Miami career: 279 tackles, 25 tackles for loss, 20.5 sacks
• Member of 2 National Championship teams
• 1990 UPI College Football Lineman of the Year
• 1990 Lombardi Award Finalist
• Iron Arrow Honor Society Inductee
• No. 1 overall selection of 1991 NFL Draft (Dallas)
• Three-time Super Bowl champion

DALLAS –The University of Miami and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that they will jointly honor Russell Maryland with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments®, on September 17 at Sun Life Stadium during the game between the Hurricanes and Ohio State. Coverage of the game will start at 7:30 p.m. ET on the ESPN.

“It’s an honor and a blessing to be named among the cream of the crop of college football athletes,” said Maryland when it was announced on May 17 that he would be inducted. “Twenty-five years ago, not even knowing I was going to play college football at a high level, and here 25 years later after having played 10 years in the NFL, it’s amazing. Some of my best times happened when I was at the University of Miami.”

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program is a hallowed tradition that began with the inaugural class in 1951, and to this day the salutes remain the first of numerous activities in each inductee’s Hall of Fame experience. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee from the Football Bowl Subdivision returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game, and many inductees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them one more chance to take the field and hear the crowd roar their name.

A unanimous All-American as a senior, Maryland took home the Outland Trophy as the nation’s best interior lineman in 1990. He also was a Lombardi Award finalist and was named the College Football Lineman of the Year by the UPI.

“One of most decorated football players in Miami history, Russell Maryland played a key role in the Hurricanes’ national titles in 1987 and 1989,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. “His natural talents, coupled with his legendary work ethic, made him one of the most feared players during his four years in Coral Gables. It will be a thrill to honor him in front of the Hurricane faithful on September 17.”

Maryland completed his college career with 279 tackles, 25 tackles for loss and 20.5 sacks. The team’s MVP in 1990, he helped the Hurricanes to two national titles, four bowl wins, a perfect home record and a 44-4 overall record in his four seasons (1986-1990) at “The U.”

Inducted into UM’s Iron Arrow Honor Society prior to graduation, Maryland was the first pick in the 1991 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys. He helped the Cowboys win three Super Bowls, played in the 1993 Pro Bowl and started 140-of-154 games in his 10-year career.

He founded the Russell Maryland Foundation in 1993 and is a board member of the Cowboys of Color Museum. A native of Southlake, Texas, Maryland participates in the “Digging for Dragons” fundraising initiative to restore educational programs in Southlake ISD. He and his wife, Rose, have three children.

Maryland joins seven other Hurricanes who also have been inducted, including (with year of induction) Gino Torretta (2009), Arnold Tucker (2008), Bennie Blades (2006), Don Bosseler (1990), Ted Hendricks (1987), Coach Andy Gustafson (1985) and Coach Jack Harding (1980). For a complete list of players and coaches in the hall, please visit

The 2011 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted at the 54th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, held at New York City’s historic Waldorf=Astoria Hotel on Tuesday, December 6. For tickets, please contact Will Rudd at or by calling 972-556-1000.

This year’s class includes: Carlos Alvarez (Florida), Doug English (Texas), Bill Enyart (Oregon State), Eddie George (Ohio State), Marty Lyons (Alabama), Russell Maryland (Miami, Fla.), Deion Sanders (Florida State), Jake Scott (Georgia), Will Shields (Nebraska), Sandy Stephens (Minnesota), Darryl Talley (West Virginia), Clendon Thomas (Oklahoma), Rob Waldrop (Arizona), Gene Washington (Michigan State), coach Lloyd Carr (Michigan), and coach Fisher DeBerry (Air Force).