🏈 Final home game of the season, this Saturday at 12 pm. Secure your tickets ➡️

Close Topbar
Clausing and Coltman Named to 2006 All-ACC Academic Rowing Team

Clausing and Coltman Named to 2006 All-ACC Academic Rowing Team

June 30, 2006

Two members of Miami’s Varsity 8, Rachel Clausing and Laura Coltman, were named to the inaugural All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Rowing Team, as announced Thursday by Commissioner John D. Swofford. All six conference schools that sponsor rowing are represented on the team.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

Clausing, who graduated in May with a 4.0 GPA and a degree in marine science & biology, was named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Women’s At-Large First Team.

A Lansing, Ill. native, Clausing is a four-year letterwinner for the Hurricanes’ rowing squad. In her final semester at Miami, Clausing earned an Atlantic Coast Conference Postgraduate Scholarship.

Coltman is a junior out of Toronto, Ontario. A three-year letterwinner for the Hurricanes, Coltman is majoring in exceptional student education

In their final season at Miami, Clausing and Coltman helped the Hurricanes to a third place finish at the 2006 ACC Championships. As members UM’s Varsity Eight crew, they helped the Hurricanes win their first-ever Cal Cup at the San Diego Crew Classic. For their efforts, the Hurricanes were named the ACC Crew of the Week. Both student-athletes were named to the All-ACC Team.

Virginia placed a league-high 16 student-athletes on the team. Clemson and Duke tied for second in the league with five selections each to the All-Academic Team. Boston College had four student-athletes selected to the squad, while Miami and North Carolina had two apiece.

All told, the inaugural All-ACC Academic Rowing Team includes one All-American, one Academic All-American, 13 CRCA National Scholar Athletes, eight All-ACC performers and five members of the ACC’s Crew of the Year, Virginia’s Second Varsity Eight.