Hurricane Rowers Head to ACC Championship

Hurricane Rowers Head to ACC Championship

April 20, 2006

CORAL GABLES, <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Fla. –The University of Miami rowing team is set to compete in the Atlantic Coast Conference Rowing Championship Saturday, April 22 on LakeHartwell in Clemson, S.C.  Racing begins at 9:00 a.m. Saturday and will include races in the Varsity Four, as well as the Varsity, Junior Varsity and Novice Eights. <?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>


The Hurricanes will have their hands full with the field this year.  Virginia enters the race ranked 11th and has won every running of the ACC Championships (six in a row).  Last year’s second and third place finishers Clemson and Duke, respectively, are also having solid years and will be great competition for Miami who finished fourth in the ACC at the 2005 championship ahead of North Carolina.  With the addition of Boston College of ACC newcomer, the field is its largest ever.


After a strong showing at the Southern Intercollegiate Rowing Association (SIRA) Regatta last weekend which saw Miami finish in the top three in three of the four races they entered, including winning the Novice Four race, the team is excited for the ACC Championships. 


Junior Sarah Conlon said, “I’m really excited, we’ve had a great week of practice and I feel like we’re really together, so it should be a good weekend.”


The weekend starts off with a preliminary race on Friday where the coxswains from each crew battle it out in the Coxswain Four race.  Look for Miami’s crew of Laura Comeau (V8 cox), Meghan Leydecker (JV8 cox), Jessica Martin (V4 cox) and Marcy Gunning (N8 cox) to perform well and hold bragging rights for the next year. 


Stay tuned to for up-to-date Miami rowing news and results.


ACC Championships – Projected Lineups


Varsity 4 – 9 a.m. race

Cox – Jessica Martin

4 – Marenda Chamberlin

3 – Charlotte Hillery

2 – Julianne Parker

1 – Mackenzie Dove


Novice 8 – 9:20 a.m. race

Cox – Marcy Gunning

8 – Megan Hudson

7 – Justine Lewis

6 – Rachel Sporko

5 – Anika Arevalo

4 – Olivia Arkell

3 – Grayce Palmer

2 – Jessica Cruz

1 – Dianna Francisco


JV 8 – 9:40 a.m. race

Cox – Megan Leydecker

8 – Molly Wilson

7 – Jaquelene Heywood

6 – Marleena Eyre

5 – Sarah Stocks

4 – Karen Wiley

3 – Sarah Greyer

2 – Valerie Webb

1 – Meghan White


Varsity 8 -10:00 a.m. race

Cox – Laura Comeau

8 – Sarah Conlon

7 – Kelly Amsler

6 – Laura Cordner

5 – Laura Coltman

4 – Natasha Lejer

3 – Emy Huntsman

2 – Bethany Krawec

1 – Rachel Clausing