Hurricanes Battle In-State Foes at Florida Intercollegiate Rowing Championships

Hurricanes Battle In-State Foes at Florida Intercollegiate Rowing Championships

April 6, 2006

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami rowing team will compete in the Florida Intercollegiate Rowing Association (FIRA) State Championships this weekend. Racing will take place Friday, April 7 from 4-6 p.m. and Saturday, April 8 from 8:45 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Krome Avenue Race Course.

“This is going to be a great event,” said head coach Debra Morgan. “We’re extremely excited to have a brand new, seven lane race course in Miami. It is only one of five race courses of its kind in the country so we are fortunate to have had the help of Rinker Materials to create this facility for our use.”

The new course will allow Miami to host future multi-team, multi-lane events that the Indian Creek race course does not allow, including the 2007 ACC Rowing Championship Regatta. This will be the first large regatta held on this course, smaller two and three team races have been held this spring.

13 teams will compete at this year’s FIRA State Championships. Aside from the University of Miami, teams from Barry University, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Florida State University, Florida Tech, Jacksonville University, Nova Southeastern University, Rollins College, Stetson University, University of Central Florida, University of Florida, University of South Florida and the University of Tampa will be competing for the Shirley B. Neggard Trophy awarded to the team with the highest point total.

“The quality of racing in the state of Florida has really improved dramatically over the last several years,” Morgan said. “Both Barry University and Nova Southeastern have nationally-ranked, Division II programs that compete at the NCAA Championships every year. The Central Florida team is also coming on strong and has raced impressively so far this season.”

“The Hurricanes will certainly have some challenges to face on the race course this weekend, but the Miami crews are well prepared and confident going in to this event.”

Miami finished second behind Central Florida at last season’s FIRA State Championships after amassing 81 total team points. The Hurricanes were able to win their Varsity and Junior Varsity four races as well as finish second in their Varsity, JV and Novice eight races behind eventual champion UCF.

Every Miami boat has won at least one race this season with the Varsity Eight earning ACC Crew of the week honors after their two wins, including the Cal Cup Division Championship, at the San Diego Crew Classic last weekend. The other Hurricane boats have had success at the Longhorn Invitational and in races against Connecticut, Barry, Nova Southeastern and Drexel.

Fans can log onto for directions to the Krome Avenue Quarry race course, site and race course maps as well as complete recaps and results.


Varsity 8 Heat – 4:15 p.m.
Novice/Freshman 8 Heat – 5:45 p.m.
Varsity 4 Heat – 6:15 p.m.

Varsity 8 – 9:15 a.m.
JV 8 – 9:45 a.m.
Novice/Freshman 8 – 11:15 a.m.
Novice 4 – 2 p.m.
Varsity 4 – 3 p.m.


Varsity 8
Laura Comeau (Cox)
Sarah Conlon
Emy Huntsman
Natasha Lejer
Laura Coltman
Laura Cordner
Rachel Clausing
Bethany Krawec
Kelly Amsler

JV 8
Jessica Martin (Cox)
Molly Wilson
Jaquelene Heywood
Marleena Eyre
Sarah Stocks
Rachel Sporko
Sarah Greyer
Valerie Webb
Meghan White

Novice/Freshman 8
Marcy Gunning (Cox)
Kelly Amsler
Marleena Eyre
Rachel Sporko
Laura Cordner
Megan Hudson
Justine Lewis
Olivia Arkell
Anika Arevallo

Varsity 4
Meghan Leydecker (Cox)
Taurii Coyne
Julianne Parker
Mackenzie Dove
Marenda Chamberlin

Novice 4
Marcy Gunning (Cox)
Olivia Arkell
Grayce Palmer
Jessica Cruz
Diana Francisco