Rowing team set for the 33rd running of the San Diego Crew Classic Regatta

Rowing team set for the 33rd running of the San Diego Crew Classic Regatta

March 30, 2006

CORAL GABLES, <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Fla.– The University of Miami’s women’s rowing team will head to San Diego, Calif. this weekend for the San Diego Crew Classic 33rd Regatta.  Racing will be held in MissionBay all day on Saturday, April 1 and conclude on Sunday, April 2.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>


Miami is scheduled to race Saturday in preliminary heat A in the Women’s Cal Cup division at 8 a.m.  The top two teams from each of the three heats qualify for the Grand Final which is scheduled for 11 a.m. on Sunday.  The middle two crews will race in the petite final on Sunday at 9:20 a.m., and the last two from each heat will race on Saturday afternoon at 3:20 p.m.


Last year Miami finished fourth in the Women’s Cal Cup division posting a time of 6:56.92 in the Grand Final despite posting a time almost 20 seconds faster than their second place winning time of 7:16.65 in 2004.  UM qualified out of heat C finishing second behind, eventual third place finisher, SacramentoState posting a time of 7:09.38. 


Miami will face off against St. Joseph’s, St. Mary’s, Temple, University of San Diego, Claremont and Colorado in the opening heat.  Some other familiar foes are in the Cal Cup division including SacramentoState, UC Davis, Kansas State and Wisconsin’s Light Weight crew.


Coach Debra Morgan is looking forward to returning to the west coast, “The San Diego Crew Classic is one of the best regattas of the season.  We’re looking forward to the opportunity to compete against crews from all over the nation.”


Differing wind and tide conditions from day to day and year to year make it hard to compare times.  But if Miami’s times from the Longhorn Invitational are any indication of how they will perform this weekend, look for a strong showing.


Miami’s projected line-up Laura Comeau (coxswain), Sarah Conlon, Emy Huntsman, Laura Cordner, Laura Coltman, Natasha Lejer, Rachel Clausing, Bethany Krawec, Kelly Amsler.


Stay tuned to for full results and recap.  Fans can also access complete results and more information through the  San Diego Crew Classic’s web site at: