Football individual game tickets are now available! Buy now ➡️

Close Topbar
Rachel Clausing Earns ACC Postgraduate Scholarship

Rachel Clausing Earns ACC Postgraduate Scholarship

Feb. 24, 2006

CORAL GABLES, <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Fla.– University of Miami senior rower Rachel Clausing is among 36 Atlantic Coast Conference scholar-athletes to be named recipients of postgraduate scholarships, as announced by Commissioner John D. Swofford. <?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>


Clausing earned the Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarship which is given to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate-level degree following graduation. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to use towards his or her graduate education. Student-athletes receiving the award have performed with distinction in both the classroom and in their respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.


Clausing, a Lansing, Ill. native, is a three-year letterwinner for the Hurricanes’ rowing squad. During the 2004-05 season she competed with the varsity eight earning as silver medal at the FIRA State Championships and finishing fourth at the ACC Championships.  Clausing was also named to the 2004-05 ACC Honor Roll.  Her sophomore season Clausing likewise competed with the varsity eight, earning a gold medal at the 2004 FIRA State Championships and a silver medal at the San Diego Crew Classic. She was also named to the 2004 CRCA All-Regional Team.


The Weaver-James-Corrigan award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James as well as Gene Corrigan, all former ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954 to 1970 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at WakeForestUniversity. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.


Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.


Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.


Recipients of the Weaver-James-Corrigan Awards are as follows: Boston College – Kristen E. Madden (field hockey), Brooke C. Queenan (basketball); Clemson – Ashlee M. Brown (rowing), Nichole M. Carlton (swimming & diving), Bradley L. Gibson (soccer); Duke – Brendan Dewan (football), Nicole Dudek (field hockey); Florida State – Jose David Castillo (football), Andrew Joseph Diakos (track & field), Lakendra McColumn (track & field); Georgia Tech – Steven Eric Blackwood (baseball), Ashley Annette Kracke (swimming), Shanta Smith (track & field); Maryland – Kimberly Marie Francis (soccer), Brendan Michael Healy (lacrosse), Mandy Miguela Pascual (gymnastics); Miami – Rachel Joy Clausing (rowing), Kaitlin Day Kozak (volleyball), Melanie Gail Marie Schultz (cross country/indoor & outdoor track); North Carolina – Courtney J. Bumpers (gymnastics), Katy Beth Tran (field hockey); NC State – Molly A. Culberson (swimming & diving), Stefani Tramaine Eddins (volleyball), Adeola Adekunbi Kosoko (volleyball); Virginia – Katherine Avery Gordon (swimming), Jane Tyler Leachman (lacrosse), Matthew Blair Ward (lacrosse); Virginia Tech – Anat Elazari (tennis), Melissa Marie Markowski (volleyball), Carrie Ann Mason (basketball); Wake Forest – Anne Golden Bersagel (cross country/track & field); Sarah Lynne Kozey (soccer), Ariel Clare Meyers (field hockey).


The 44 student-athletes will be honored April 13, 2006, in Greensboro, N.C., at a luncheon hosted by the Nat Greene Kiwanis Club. The luncheon will be held at the KouryConvention Center.