Hurricanes Open Fall 2004 Rowing Season at 12th Annual Head of the Creek Regatta

Hurricanes Open Fall 2004 Rowing Season at 12th Annual Head of the Creek Regatta

Oct. 16, 2004

Coral Gables, Fla.- – The University of Miami women’s rowing team will launch the 2004 fall racing season at the 12th annual Head of the Indian Creek Regatta on Sunday, October 15, at the Ronald Shane Watersports Center in Miami Beach, Florida. Racing starts at 8:00 a.m. and is free to the public.

“This is a pretty low key regatta for us as we are focusing more on the small boats (four, doubles and quad) than we are on the eights,” said head coach Debra Morgan.

“We’ve had some great practices leading up to this weekend and are looking to enjoy the process of putting all that the athletes have learned into play on the race course.”

Morgan, who returns 23 letterwinners and welcomes five newcomers, will face the challenge of replacing eight departing seniors from a 2003-04 team that produced an overall points title at the 2003 Head of the Chattahoochee Regatta and a state title at the 2004 Florida Intercollegiate Rowing Association Championships along with second-place finishes at the 2004 San Diego Crew Classic and the 2004 BIG EAST Challenge.

“We have a young team with some excellent athletic talent,” Morgan further commented. “It’s a matter of getting everyone on the same page this semester so that we can produce some good boat speed in the spring.”

University of Miami lineups for the 12th Annual Head of the Creek Regatta

Championship Eights

Entry ‘A’:
Cox Jessica Martin
8 Karen Wiley
7 Sarah Conlon
6 Anna Cohen
5 Marenda Chamberlin
4 Laura Coltman
3 Sarah Stocks
2 Yassi Haririnia
1 Deirdre Curran

Entry ‘B’:
Cox Laura Comeau
8 Ashley Marincsin
7 Jaquelene Heywood
6 Natasha Lejer
5 Jennifer Dunning
4 Bethany Krawec
3 Julie Crane
2 Valerie Webb
1 Molly Wilson

Championship Four

Cox Meghan Leydecker
4 Laura Coltman
3 Sarah Stocks
2 Bethany Krawec
1 Deirdre Curran

Club Four

Entry ‘A’:
Cox Hannah Bae
4 Taurii Coyne
3 Meghan Leydecker
2 Valerie Webb
1 Yassi Haririnia

Entry ‘B’:
Cox Caroline Fernandez
4 Sierra Shaffer
3 Noelle Van Ee
2 Mackenna Moeller
1 Julianne Parker

Championship Double

Entry ‘A’:
Ashley Marinscin/Karen Wiley

Entry ‘B’:
Julie Crane/Jaquelene Heywood

Entry ‘C’:
Laura Comeau/Jessica Martin

Open Quad
4 Sarah Conlon
3 Anna Cohen
2 Natasha Lejer
1 Taurii Coyne

“In the coming weeks, we will be hoping to transfer the skills the team has learned in the small boats up into the eight,” Morgan concluded. “The end goal is to find our tops speed in the eights for the Head of the Hooch and the Rivanna Romp.”

The Hurricanes return to action when they travel to Gainesville, Fla. for the Head of the Chattahoochee November 6th-7th.