Sievers A Finalist For National Special Teams Award

Dec. 4, 2002

Kahului-Maui, Hawaii – Hula Bowl Maui and the Maui Quarterback Club are proud to announce the finalists for the 2002 Mosi Tatupu Special Teams Award: Aris Comeaux, Terrence Holt, Charles Pauley, Glenn Pakulak and Todd Sievers. Please see the bottom of this release for details about each finalist.

The Mosi Tatupu Special Teams Award was created to honor college football’s best special teams players, including kick returners, coverage specialists, punters and place kickers. The winner of the 2002 Mosi Tatupu Award will be announced on December 13, 2002. On February 1, 2003 the winner of the award will receive a trophy commemorating his accomplishment during halftime of Hula Bowl Maui.

Previous winners of the Mosi Tatupu Special Teams Award include Kahlil Hill, formerly of the Atlanta Falcons (2001), J.T. Thatcher of the Oakland Raiders (2000), Deltha O’Neal of the Denver Broncos (1999), Chris McAlister of the Baltimore Ravens (1998) and Brock Olivo (1997).


Aris Comeaux, US Military Academy, SR, WR/PR, 6-0, 200
Would rank second nationally in punt return average at 19.4, but is one game shy of meeting NCAA minimum number of game (injury). Returned two punts for TDs in 2002. Army’s second leading receiver.

Terrence Holt, N.C. State University, SR, FS/Kick Blocker, 6-2, 203
12 career kick blocks (8 field goal blocks and 4 punt blocks), including 3 kick blocks in 2002 season (1 field goal block and 2 punt blocks). Blocked four field goals in 2001, tying national record.

Glenn Pakulak, University of Kentucky, SR, P, 6-3, 223
NCAA #3 Punter (45.58 avg). All-America (third team) Sporting News in 2001, All-SEC (first team AP) in 2001. 2002 Ray Guy finalist.

Charles Pauley, San Jose State University, SR, WR/KR, 6-3, 160
NCAA #2 Kickoff Returner (31.55 avg). 2 TDs on kickoff returns. Team’s leading punt returner (11.3 avg). Excellent WR, with 60 receptions for 804 yds and 4 TDs.

Todd Sievers, University of Miami, SR, PK, 6-3, 215
One of the top place kickers in the country, 3-time letter winner for nation’s #1 team. 12 for 20, long of 53 yards in 2002. Sievers is #3 on Miami’s all-time career scoring list with 296 and #4 all-time among Hurricane kickers with 44 field goals.