Football individual game tickets are now available! Buy now ➡️

Close Topbar
Morgan And Moss Named To AFCA Coaches' All-America Team

Morgan And Moss Named To AFCA Coaches' All-America Team

Dec. 8, 2000

Coral Gables, Fla. ( — – Two University of Miami players, linebacker Dan Morgan and wide receiver Santana Moss, were named to the 2000 AFCA Coaches’ All-America Team announced by the American Football Coaches Association.

The AFCA All-America honor for Morgan marks his eighth of the 2000 postseason, along with the Football Writers Association, Walter Camp Foundation, Football News, The Sporting News,, and College Football News. Morgan has also earned the Chuck Bednarik and Bronko Nagurski trophies, which represents the National Defensive Player of the Year, as well as Defensive Player of the Year by the BIG EAST Conference, Football News, College Football News, and the Touchdown Club of Columbus (OH).

The AFCA All-America honor for Moss was his second of the 2000 postseason for his efforts at the wide receiver position, along with the Walter Camp Foundation. Additionally, Moss, the BIG EAST Special Teams and Offensive Player of the Year, has seven overall All-America honors in 2000, including five at special team returner.

The 2000 BIG EAST Champion Miami Hurricanes finished the regular season with a 10-1 mark and an undefeated 7-0 record in conference play. Miami finished the regular season ranked No. 2 in both the Associated Press and USA Today/ESPN Coaches polls for the final five weeks. The Hurricanes will play state-rival and SEC Champion Florida in the 2001 Nokia Sugar Bowl on Tuesday, January 2 at the Louisiana Superdome.

For ticket information for the 2001 Nokia Sugar Bowl, check out the University of Miami athletic website at or call 1-800 GO CANES.