Shop Now for Father’s Day at the Hurricanes Team Store! Explore our gift guide now ➡️ Gift Guide »

Close Topbar

University of Miami Football Awards Presented At Annual Banquet

Nov. 30, 2000

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami football team held its annualFootball Awards Banquet on Thursday night at the Radisson Mart Hotel Centrein Miami. At the banquet, sponsored by the Touchdown Club and the HurricaneClub, 17 awards were presented to individual Hurricane football players,including the Jack Harding Award for Most Valuable Player.

Senior linebacker Dan Morgan and senior wide receiver Santana Moss sharedthe Jack Harding Award (Most Valuable Player) presented by Head Coach ButchDavis. Morgan, registered 138 tackles and became Miami’s all-time tacklesleader with 532 for his career. Morgan also is a finalist for the DickButkus Award, Bronko Nagurski Award and the Chuck Bednarik Award. Moss, afirst-team All-American by The Football Writers Association of America, TheWalter Camp Foundation, The Sporting News and Football News, led the teamwith 45 catches for 748 yards and accounted for nine touchdowns this seasonvia receptions (5) and punt returns (4).

Senior left guard Greg Laffere, who overcame several injuries to become avital part of one of the nation’s finest offensive lines, was awarded theUnsung Hero Award. Junior right tackle Joaquin Gonzalez, a businessmarketing major with a grade point average of 3.41 who has earned GTE/CoSIDAAcademic All-America, was presented with the Mariutto Family ScholarshipAward for Academic Excellence. Senior linebacker Dan Morgan won the PlumerAward (Leadership/Motivation/Spirit), while senior wide receiver Andre Kingearned the Dale Melching Leadership Award. Senior tight end Ivan Mercer andjunior running back Najeh Davenport shared the Jesse Armstead ComebackPlayer of the Year Award. Mercer earned the honor after recovering fromshoulder surgery to become the Hurricanes’ starting tight end whileDavenport returned from a devastating knee injury to rush for 308 yards andfour touchdowns this season. Sophomore quarterback Ken Dorsey also wasawarded the Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award (Commitment, Consistency, WorkEthic).

Other awards were presented to: senior safety Al Blades (Hard Hitter Award),sophomore quarterback Ken Dorsey and senior running back James Jackson(co-Offensive Backs of the Year), junior offensive tackle Bryant McKinnie(Offensive Lineman of the Year), senior wide receiver Santana Moss (Receiverof the Year), junior safety Edward Reed (Defensive Back of the Year), seniordefensive tackle Damione Lewis (Defensive Lineman of the Year), seniorlinebacker Dan Morgan (Linebacker of the Year), senior Aaron Moser andjunior Daryl Jones (co-Specialty Team Players of the Year), senior receiverReggie Wayne (Strength Training Athlete of the Year), sophomore tight endJeremy Shockey (Offensive Rookie of the Year), junior defensive endCornelius Green (Defensive Rookie of the Year), punter Freddie Capshaw (MostImproved Player), and deep snapper Chris Harvey (Most Valuable Walk-On).


Unsung Hero Award Greg Laffere
Mariutto Family Scholarship Award (Academic Excellence) Joaquin Gonzalez
Plumer Award (Leadership/Motivation/Spirit) Dan Morgan
Dale Melching Leadership Award Andre King
Hard Hitter Award Al Blades
Offensive Back of the Year Ken Dorsey and James Jackson
Offensive Lineman of the Year Bryant McKinnie
Receiver of the Year Santana Moss
Defensive Back of the Year Edward Reed
Defensive Lineman of the Year Damione Lewis
Linebacker of the Year Dan Morgan
Specialty Team Player of the Year Daryl Jones and Aaron Moser
Strength Training Athlete of the Year Reggie Wayne
Jesse Armstead Comeback Player of the Year Najeh Davenport and Ivan Mercer
Offensive Rookie of the Year Jeremy Shockey
Defensive Rookie of the Year Cornelius Green
Nick Chickillo (Most Improved Player) Freddie Capshaw
Albert Bentley Award (Most Valuable Walk-On Award) Chris Harvey
Jack Harding Award (Most Valuable Player) Dan Morgan and Santana Moss