Ring of Honor

Football Jersey Policy

Miami Athletics established the football program’s Ring of Honor in 1997 to recognize the greatest players and coaches in program history.

There are currently 27 members of the Ring of Honor. The Class of 2023 featuring Dennis Erickson, Chuck Foreman and Jimmy Johnson was inducted during a halftime ceremony at Miami’s win over Clemson at Hard Rock Stadium on October 21, 2023.

The full list of Ring of Honor members is listed below by induction year.


  • Class of 1997: Jim Dooley, Ted Hendricks, George Mira, Vinny Testaverde
  • Class of 1999: Ottis Anderson, Don Bosseler, Bernie Kosar, Burgess Owens
  • Class of 2008: Edgerrin James, Jim Kelly, Cortez Kennedy, Jim Otto, Gino Torretta
  • Class of 2009: Bennie Blades, Eddie Dunn, Steve Walsh
  • Class of 2014: Jerome Brown, Russell Maryland
  • Class of 2017: Michael Irvin, Ray Lewis, Ed Reed, Warren Sapp, Sean Taylor
  • Class of 2021: Howard Schnellenberger
  • Class of 2023: Dennis Erickson, Chuck Foreman, Jimmy Johnson

The Ring of Honor includes 13 national champions, two Heisman Trophy winners, 10 Pro Football Hall of Famers and nine College Football Hall of Famers.

Ring of Honor names and jersey numbers are featured on displays fronting the upper deck for Hurricanes home games at Hard Rock Stadium.

Howard Schnellenberger

Howard Schnellenberger