Ableman Named One of CSCAA's Top 100

Ableman Named One of CSCAA's Top 100

CORAL GABLES, Fla. — As a part of the College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America’s (CSCAA) Centennial Celebration, the association named its list of 100 Greatest College Swimming & Diving Coaches of the past 100 years and University of Miami diving coach Randy Ableman cracked the list.

Since joining the Hurricanes coaching staff in the spring of 1989, Ableman has developed the Hurricanes diving team into one of the nation’s premier programs, having coached 13 different divers to a total of 22 individual NCAA national championships. Ableman is a nine-time CSCAA Coach of the Year Award winner and has earned more than 10 conference coach of the year honors for both men and women across the BIG EAST and Atlantic Coast Conference, having mentored countless NCAA All-Americans, conference champions and Olympians.

Just over 500 coaches were nominated. A blue ribbon committee of fifty eight voters selected from 263 finalists, each focusing on a particular sport (swimming or diving) and Division.

Collectively the coaches account for 346 NCAA and NAIA team titles plus an additional 260 individual diving titles.

“The voters and committee really deserve a lot of credit for making performance the key criterion” explained CSCAA Executive Director Greg Earhart, adding, “they ensured that each of the three NCAA divisions and the NAIA were represented, yet made sure that a coach’s selection was not simply a product of their longevity or service to the sport.”

Founded in 1922, the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA), is the nation’s first organization of college coaches. The mission of the CSCAA is to advance the sport of swimming and diving with coaches at the epicenter of leadership, advocacy, and professional development.

For profiles on each selection visit