Haith Selected for NCAA Regional Advisory Committee

Haith Selected for NCAA Regional Advisory Committee

Oct. 12, 2010

CORAL GABLES, FLA. – University of Miami head men’s basketball coach Frank Haith has been selected to serve on the NCAA Division I Regional Advisory Committee for the 2010-11 season.


Haith will represent the ACC and be one of 31 head coaches from around the nation serving on the committee per an invitation from the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee and the National Association of Basketball Coaches. He will submit a ballot in January, February and March, ranking the top 15 teams in the East region, which includes the America East, Atlantic Coast, Atlantic 10, Big East, Colonial, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-Eastern, Northeast and Patriot conferences.


The ballots received from all four regions will be used by the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee to determine the field of 68 teams that will participate in the 2011 NCAA Tournament in March. It gives coaches a “voice” in the selection, seeding and bracketing process.


“It’s an honor to be asked to serve on this committee,” said Coach Haith. “Every team enters the season with the goal of reaching the NCAA Tournament, and I take the responsibility and weight of serving on this committee very seriously. The NCAA Selection Committee has a challenging assignment in determining the best 68 teams in the nation worthy of competing for a national title, and I think it’s useful to involve coaches from every conference in this process.”


Joining Haith on the 2010-11 NCAA Division I Regional Advisory Committee is Mike Lonergan (Vermont), Karl Hobbs (George Washington), Jay Wright (Villanova), Jim Larranaga (George Mason), Tommy Amaker (Harvard), Mitch Buonaguro (Siena), Todd Bozeman (Morgan State), Andy Toole (Robert Morris), Dave Paulsen (Bucknell), Bo Ryan (Wisconsin), Josh Pastner (Memphis), Brad Stevens (Butler), Steve Hawkins (Western Michigan), Cuonzo Martin (Missouri State), Scott Nagy (South Dakota State), Bob Hoffman (Mercer), Bill Self (Kansas), Brad Greenberg (Radford), Mike Sutton (Tennessee Tech), Trent Johnson (LSU), John Shulman (Chattanooga), Mike McConathy (Northwestern State), Rob Spivery (Southern), Steve Shields (UALR), Tyler Geving (Portland State), Jim Wooldridge (UC Riverside), Lon Kruger (UNLV), Lorenzo Romar (Washington), Eric Reveno (Portland) and Marvin Menzies (New Mexico State).