Hurricane Rowing Host Cincinnati

Hurricane Rowing Host Cincinnati

April 30, 2004

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami rowing team will host Cincinnati in the final dual race of the season Saturday, May 1 at the waters of Indian Creek in Miami Beach, Fla.

The Hurricanes had an impressive day in their last outing, taking second place at the 2004 BIG EAST Challenge April 25. Miami finished second overall, ahead of three-time defending champions Syracuse, and marked the school’s highest finish in school history.

“We are coming off some incredible performances from all of our crews last weekend at the Big East Championships so we look to continue that momentum this coming weekend against Cincinnati,” head coach Debra Morgan said.

This will also mark the last of UM’s dual races this season. Miami’s last dual race came against future ACC rival Clemson March 21. Against the Tigers, Miami was able to split to come away with wins in three of six races.

“This is the part of the season where you really want the crews to find their peak speed and hold it through to the end of the season,” Morgan said. “We’re right on course to have our fastest races of the year at the Central Sprints in three weeks. Our race against Cincinnati keeps us racing and hungry and focused on our goals for Centrals.”

Saturday’s races are slated to begin at 8 a.m. with the varsity four. Admission is free.

Race Schedule and Lineups

8:00 a.m. – Varsity Four
Hannah Bae (cox), Jennifer Dunning, Laura Coltman, Yassi Haririnia, Natasha Lejer

8:15 a.m. – Varsity Eight
Laura Comeau (cox), Jenny Krawec, Jacqui Julien, Sarah Conlon, Karen Wiley, Caroline Stuart, Rachel Clausing, Jordanna Heywood, Ananda Chou

8:30 a.m. – Junior Varsity Eight
Jessica Martin (cox), Rachel Sander, Bridget Gallagher, Anna Cohen, Julie Crane, Ashley Marincsin, Jaquelene Heywood, Aoife Forde, Deirdre Curran

9:15 a.m. – Varsity Four “A” (from Varsity Eight)
Laura Comeau (cox), Jenny Krawec, Jacqui Julien, Jordanna Heywood, Karen Wiley

9:30 a.m. – Varsity Four “B” (from Junior Varsity Eight)
Jessica Martin (cox), Rachel Sander, Jennifer Dunning, Aoife Forde, Jaquelene Heywood

9:45 a.m. – Novice Eight
Meghan Leydecker (cox), Valerie Webb, Sarah Conlon, Natasha Lejer, Erin Morris, Sarah Stocks, Noelle Van Ee, Molly Wilson, Marenda Chamberlin

10:15 a.m. – Varsity Four “B” (from Varsity Eight)
Laura Comeau (cox), Caroline Stuart, Ananda Chou, Julie Crane, Rachel Clausing

10:30 a.m. – Varsity Four “A” (from Novice Eight)
Meghan Leydecker (cox), Valerie Webb, Erin Morris, Sarah Stocks, Marenda Chamberlin

11:00 a.m. – Varisty Four “A” (from Junior Varsity Eight)
Jessica Martin (cox), Bridget Gallagher, Anna Cohen, Deirdre Curran, Ashley Marincsin