Sprint to the latest Miami Made episode featuring Hurricanes ACC 400-meter 🥇 medalist Moriah Oliveira and her journey. Click Here »

Close Topbar
Women's Rowing Travel to Boston, Mass. for the XXXVIII Head of the Charles

Women's Rowing Travel to Boston, Mass. for the XXXVIII Head of the Charles

Oct. 17, 2002

The University of Miami will be sending its varsity women’s eight and four teams to the Head of the Charles Regatta, the world’s largest two-day rowing event, running from Oct. 19-20 on the Charles River in Boston, Mass.

The varsity women’s eight consists of coxswain Laura Comeau and rowers, Anna Cohen, Jordanna Heywood, Ananda Chou, Jaquelene Heywood, Ashley Marincsin, Caroline Stuart, Jacqui Julien and Jenny Krawec.

The varsity women’s four boat features coxswain Megan Gallacher and rowers Julie Crane, Yennisha Pino, Margaret Knuth and Dorothy Clay.

Miami’s women’s championship eight entry recently finished first at the Head of the Indian Creek Regatta, while the varsity women’s four boat took second place. Head Coach Debra Morgan is impressed with the way her team opened the 2002-03 season and expects the team’s success to continue into this weekend as they travel to Boston. Mass.

“I expect them to be very competitive in the club four event at the Head of the Charles,” said Head Coach Debra Morgan. “Our only two seniors, Dorothy Clay and Maggie Knuth, are in that line up and are contributing a lot to the boat’s speed. Additionally, sophomore Julie Crane and junior Yennisha Pino are also performing well.”

The Head of the Charles Regatta was first held on October 16, 1965 and has grown tremendously over the last 35 years. The Cambridge Boat Club members D’Arcy MacMahon, Howard McIntyre, and Jack Vincent established the race, with the audience of Harvard University sculling instructor Ernest Arlett. Arlett proposed that a “head of the river” race similar in tradition to races held in England be held on the Charles River. “Head” races, a class of regattas, are generally three miles long with boats racing against each other and the clock, starting sequentially approximately fifteen seconds apart. Winners of each race receive the honorary title of “Head of the River” or, in this case, “Head of the Charles.”

Races begin at the Boston University Boathouse and finish at the Artesani Park, which is between the Northeastern Boathouse and the Eliot Bridge.