Byrne Selected to 2024 Arnold Palmer Cup International Team

Byrne Selected to 2024 Arnold Palmer Cup International Team

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – University of Miami senior golfer Sara Byrne has been selected to compete on Team International at the 2024 Arnold Palmer Cup, as announced live on the Golf Channel Tuesday afternoon.

Byrne will be the second Hurricane in program history to compete in the event, joining current LPGA golfer Dewi Weber, who competed on Team International in 2018.

The Arnold Palmer Cup is a Ryder Cup-style tournament featuring the top women’s and men’s university/college golfers matching the United States against a team of International players.

Byrne will return to her home country to compete in the event, which will be played at Lahinch Golf Club in Lahinch, Ireland, from July 5-7.

Head Team International Coaches Rhyll Brinsmead and Barry Fennelly selected Sara Byrne (Miami; Ireland) and Filip Jakubcik (Arizona; Czech Republic), respectively, as their coach’s picks.

Byrne is one of four ACC golfers to earn a spot on either Team International or Team USA, alongside Mirabel Ting (Florida State), Rachel Kuehn (Wake Forest) and Amanda Sambach (Virginia).

The senior has put together one of the most impressive seasons in program history, totaling two individual victories and six top-five finishes. She is a two-time ACC Golfer of the Month honoree and a member of the 2024 ANNIKA Award watch list.

Team International

Carla Bernat (Kansas State; Spain)

Emma Bunch (New Mexico State; Denmark)

Sara Byrne (Miami; Ireland)

Adela Cernousek (Texas A&M; France)

Hannah Darling (South Carolina; Scotland)

Kate Lanigan (Maynooth; Ireland)

Maria José Marin (Arkansas; Colombia)

Julia Lopez Ramirez (Mississippi State; Spain)

Caitlyn Macnab (Ole Miss; South Africa)

Paula Martín Sampedro (Stanford; Spain)

Louise Rydqvist (South Carolina; Sweden)

Mirabel Ting (Florida State; Malaysia)

Team USA

Zoe Campos (UCLA)

Maisie Filler (Florida)

Megha Ganne (Stanford)

Melanie Green (USF)

Rachel Kuehn (Wake Forest)

Anna Morgan (Furman)

Mary Kelly Mulcahy (Findlay)

Farah O’Keefe (Texas)

Catherine Park (Southern California)

Kiara Romero (Oregon)

Amanda Sambach (Virginia)

Latanna Stone (LSU)

About Lahinch Golf Club

Lahinch Golf Club was founded in 1892 and is consistently ranked in the Top 50 golf courses in world golf. Originally laid out by Old Tom Morris, the services of Dr. Alister MacKenzie were retained in 1926 to redesign the course, following which he declared “Lahinch will make the finest and most popular golf course that I, or I believe anyone else, ever constructed.”

Since 1895, the spectacular links course has played host to Ireland’s oldest amateur championship ‘The South of Ireland’. Past Champions include Darren Clarke, Paul McGinley, and Graeme McDowell, who participated in the 2000 & 2001 Arnold Palmer Cups. Other past champions of “The South” include Justin Keogh and Stuart Grehan, who were honored to represent Europe in the 2002 and 2016 Arnold Palmer Cups, respectively. Lahinch also hosted the DP World Tour’s 2019 Dubai Duty Free Irish Open, won by 2014 and 2015 Palmer Cup alum Jon Rahm.

About the Arnold Palmer Cup

The Arnold Palmer Cup was co-founded by Arnold Palmer and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) and began at the Bay Hill Club & Lodge, Orlando, Fla., in 1997. The event is a Ryder Cup-style tournament featuring the top men’s and women’s university/college golfers matching the United States against a team of International players. The Palmer Cup has been played at some of the world’s greatest courses, including The Old Course at St. Andrews, The Royal County Down, Royal Portrush, Baltusrol, The Honors Course, and Cherry Hills. Beginning with the 2018 matches at Evian Resort Golf Club, the Palmer Cup is the only major tournament that features men and women playing side-by-side as partners.

Since its inception, over 245 former Arnold Palmer Cup alumni have gone on to earn cards on the PGA, DP World, or LPGA Tours; 44 have represented Europe or the USA in the Ryder Cup, Presidents Cup, or Solheim Cup and more than 90 have claimed over 415 victories on the PGA, DP World, or LPGA Tours, including 2023 major champions Jon Rahm (Masters Tournament), Lilia Vu (The Chevron Championship & AIG Women’s Open), Wyndham Clark (U.S. Open), Allisen Corpuz (U.S. Women’s Open), and Brian Harman (The Open), as well as 2023 FedEx Cup champion Viktor Hovland. The United States leads the Palmer Cup series 14-12-1.

The Arnold & Winnie Palmer Foundation supports the Palmer Cup, which provides a platform for perpetuating Arnold Palmer’s commitment to youth character development and the growth of amateur/collegiate golf. For more information, please visit