Three UM Student-Athletes Receive ACC Postgraduate Scholarship Awards

Three UM Student-Athletes Receive ACC Postgraduate Scholarship Awards


GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference is set to honor 54 student-athletes who have been selected as 2022 Weaver-James-Corrigan-Swofford Postgraduate Scholarship Award recipients.

This year’s list includes three student-athletes who will also receive the Thacker Award and nine student-athletes who plan to pursue professional careers in their chosen sports and were named honorary recipients. The three 2022 ACC Postgraduate Scholars from Miami are Selena Fortich (soccer), Abigail Schwenger (rowing) and Priscilla Hernandez (volleyball).

“Congratulations to this year’s incredible ACC postgraduate scholarship recipients,” said ACC Commissioner Jim Phillips, Ph.D. “Each one of these individuals represents what’s best in college athletics and I’m extremely proud of their amazing accomplishments thus far. We look forward to following what is sure to be a meaningful and successful future as they move ahead in their respective careers.”

The Weaver-James-Corrigan-Swofford and Jim and Pat Thacker postgraduate scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $6,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

This year’s class of postgraduate scholarship recipients will be highlighted in a one-hour show on ACC Network that will air in May.

The following student-athletes will be recognized as 2022 ACC Postgraduate Scholars:

Name, Institution, Sport, Major

Marnelle Garraud, Boston College, Women’s Basketball, Management – Information Systems/Business Analytics

Bolang Meng, Boston College, Men’s Fencing, Management – Finance/Business Analytics

Eleanor Mataya, Boston College, Softball, Management – Accounting for Finance and Consulting/Business Analytics

George Marks, Clemson, Men’s Soccer, Psychology

Cammy Pereira, Clemson, Softball, Psychology

Sydney Dawson, Clemson, Women’s Soccer, Psychology

Tess Boade, Duke, Women’s Soccer, International Comparative Studies

Josh Finesilver, Duke, Wrestling, Evolutionary Anthropology

Cooper Stinson, Duke, Baseball, Biology

Gabrielle Carle, Florida State, Women’s Soccer, Exercise Physiology

Izaak Bastian, Florida State, Men’s Swimming and Diving, Athletic Training

Kelechi Nwanaga, Florida State, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field, Economics

Lotta-Maj Lahtinen, Georgia Tech, Women’s Basketball, Business Administration

Mikaila Dowd, Georgia Tech, Women’s Volleyball, Biomedical Engineering

Kyle Barone, Georgia Tech, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Computer Science

Gabriela Leon, Louisville, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field, Health and Human Performance-Exercise Science

Alli Bitting, Louisville, Field Hockey, Sport Administration

Selena Fortich, Miami, Women’s Soccer, Political Science & Criminology

Abigail Schwenger, Miami, Rowing, Elementary & Exceptional Education and Spanish

Priscilla Hernandez, Miami, Women’s Volleyball, Management

Abby Pitcairn, North Carolina, Field Hockey, Biology

Meredith Sholder, North Carolina, Field Hockey, Biology

Zach Tucci, North Carolina, Men’s Lacrosse, Business Administration

Eric Knowles, NC State, Men’s Swimming and Diving, Materials Science and Engineering

Trent Hidlay, NC State, Wrestling, Business Administration

Sophie Hansson, NC State, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Business Administration

Andrew J. Alexander, Notre Dame, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field, Management (MSM)

Maddy Denner, Notre Dame, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field, Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics (ACMS)

Philip K. Quinton, Notre Dame, Men’s Soccer, Political Science

Jackson Walti, Pitt, Men’s Soccer, Sustainable Engineering

Felix Wolter, Pitt, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field, Computer Science

Meghan Root, Syracuse, Women’s Soccer, Public Relations

Polina Shemanova, Syracuse, Women’s Volleyball, Communication & Rhetorical Studies & Linguistic Studies

Rebecca Jarrett, Virginia, Women’s Soccer, Media Studies & American Studies – American Studies and Media Studies (Distinguished Major Program); minor in Entrepreneurship

Courtlynne Caskin, Virginia, Women’s Lacrosse, Media Studies

Owayne Owens, Virginia, Men’s Track & Field, Sociology/Masters Public Policy

Emily Gray, Virginia Tech, Women’s Soccer, Sports Media and Analytics

Patrick Forrest, Virginia Tech, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field, Management

Tyreke Sapp, Virginia Tech, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field, Communications & Public Relations

Shayla Brianna Smart, Wake Forest, Women’s Soccer, Health and Exercise Science

Zach Facioni, Wake Forest, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field, Economics

Anna Maria Brylin, Wake Forest, Women’s Tennis, Finance


Jim & Pat Thacker Scholarship Recipients

Name, Institution, Sport, Major

Michaela Dukes, Louisville, Rowing, Biology

Olivia Miller, Pitt, Women’s Gymnastics, Rehabilitation Science

Claire Cooke, Syracuse, Field Hockey, Human Development and Family Science


Honorary Scholarship Nominees

Name, Institution, Sport, Major

Marc McLaughlin, Boston College, Men’s Ice Hockey, Management – Finance/Management and Leadership

Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson, Men’s Golf, Management

Gina Kim, Duke, Women’s Golf, Psychology

Jenna Johnson, Florida State, Women’s Beach Volleyball, Biomaterials and Polymers

Nicole Fegans, Georgia Tech, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field, Business Administration

Julia Poole, NC State, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Communication

Kianna Smith, Louisville, Women’s Basketball, Master of Business Administration

Rachel S. Tanczos, Notre Dame, Women’s Track & Field, Non-Degree

Cal Adomitis, Pitt, Football, Economics