🚨 Men’s Basketball is Final Four Bound! Get your gear now Buy Here »

Close Topbar
No. 28 Golf Earns NCAA Central Regional Berth

No. 28 Golf Earns NCAA Central Regional Berth

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The 28th-ranked Miami Hurricanes women’s golf team punched its ticket to the postseason and will be one of 24 teams competing in the 2014 NCAA Central Regional.

Hosted by Oklahoma State, the NCAA Central Regional will be held May 8-10 at the par-72, 6,200-yard Karsten Creek Golf Course in Stillwater, Okla. 10th-seeded Miami and North Carolina are the only ACC teams that will be competing in the NCAA Central Regional.

The five-time National Champions will make their 33rd overall postseason appearance and 21st NCAA trip in school history. It marks Miami’s first back-to-back postseason appearances since 2004-05.

“We’re excited to be in the Central Regional,” fourth-year head coach Patti Rizzo said. “The teams in the field look fairly strong. We will have to play hard.

“If we play as well as we are capable of, I do believe there’s a spot for us to go to nationals!” Rizzo said.

Prior to Monday’s announcement, the Canes tied for fifth at the ACC Championship – tied for their best finish since joining the league. Freshman Daniela Darquea led the Hurricanes individually, tying for 13th overall at 10-over 223.

Three 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 8-10 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition, and all national championships policies apply. A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals; eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.

The 33rd annual NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship will be held May 20-23 at the Tulsa Country Club in Tulsa, Okla.

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter, @HurricanesGolf.

2. Arkansas
3. Alabama
4. Arizona
5. LSU
6. Oklahoma State
7. Florida
8. North Carolina
9. Ohio State
11. Mississippi State
12. Cal
13. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
14. Kansas
15. Texas
16. UNLV
17. Colorado
18. SMU
19. Minnesota
20. Harvard (Ivy League)
21. Lamar (Southland Conference)
22. Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference)
23. LIU-Brooklyn (Northeast Conference)
24. Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
1. Aurora Kan, Purdue
2. Sanna Nuutinen, TCU
3. Jenna Hague, Ball State
4. Ember Schuldt, Illinois
5. Kimmie Hill, Texas Tech
6. Stephanie Miller, Illinois