UM Rowers Finish Sixth at ACC Championships

UM Rowers Finish Sixth at ACC Championships

April 24, 2010

Click to Watch the Archive

Clemson, S.C. – Junior Sarah Medland was selected to the All-ACC Rowing Team on Saturday, as the University of Miami finished sixth at the Atlantic Coast Conference Rowing Championships held at Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C. Clemson University served as host for this year’s championships.

Under the direction of first-year head coach Andrew Carter, the Hurricanes fielded just two boats in this year’s event. Miami entered teams in the Varsity Four and Varsity Eight races, respectively.

In First Varsity Eight action, the `Canes finished fourth, crossing the finish line at 7:02.6. The UM rowers consisted of Kate Rickers (bow), Marie-Claire Serou (2), Monika Sajincic (3), Molly Thornton (4), Katalin Horvath (5), Theresa Recicar (6), Hana Janatova (7), Sarah Medland (stroke) and Christina Crocco (coxswain). The Hurricanes finished three seconds ahead of Boston College, and just a shade under 20 seconds faster than North Carolina.

For her services in the stroke seat, Medland picked up her first All-ACC honor.

In the Varsity Four, Miami used the team of Maria Siemann (bow), Brittany Pirie (2), Taylor Forster (3), Blair Hamrick (bow) and Heather Hollembeak (coxswain). In the race, the Hurricanes finished sixth, coming across the line in 8:11.6.

Virginia, the nation’s third-ranked team, won all four events to collect the ACC title. The Cavaliers totaled 60 points on the day. Clemson, which finished second in all four races, finished second with 50 points, followed in order by Duke with 36, Boston College (26), North Carolina (18) and Miami (14).

Virginia Head Coach Kevin Sauer was named ACC Coach of the Year, the sixth time he has been so honored. Virginia’s Kristine O’Brien, a freshman from Massapequa Park, N.Y.) was named the ACC Freshman of the Year. UVa’s First Varsity Eight crew was also named the ACC Crew of the Year.

For more information on the ACC Rowing Championships, please log on to The official championship website can be accessed by clicking here.

Team Totals
1. Virginia, 60; 2. Clemson, 50; 3. Duke, 36; 4. Boston College, 26; 5. North Carolina, 18; 6. Miami, 14.

First Varsity Eight
1.Virginia, 6:34.2; 2. Clemson, 6:45.8; 3. Duke, 6:56.5; 4. Miami, 7:02.6; 5. Boston College 7:05.4; 6. North Carolina, 7:22.5.

Second Varsity Eight
1. Virginia, 6:59.4; 2. Clemson, 7:12.2; 3. Duke, 7:23.9; 4. Boston College, 7:34.8; 5. North Carolina, 7:44.9. (Miami did not participate).

Novice Eight
1. Virginia, 6:49.4; 2. Clemson, 6:59.3; 3. North Carolina, 7:23.7: 4. Boston College, 8:14.6. (Duke and Miami did not participate)

First Varsity Four
1. Virginia, 7:08.1; 2. Clemson, 7:19.6; 3. Duke, 7:40.9; 4. Boston College, 7:44.5; 5. North Carolina, 7:47.0; 6. Miami, 8:11.6.

ACC Crew of the Year
Coxswain Sidney Thorsten (Atlanta, Ga.), and rowers Jennifer Cromwell (Bellvue, Wash.), Katrin Reinert (Stuttgart, Germany), Desiree Burns (Poughkeepsie, N. Y.), Kristine O’Brien (Massapequa Park, N.Y.), Martha Kuzzy (Minneapolis, Minn.), Helen Tompkins( Friendswood, Tex.), Nora Phillips (Arlington, Va.) and Summers Nelson (Kansas City, Mo.)

All-ACC Rowing Team
Megan McMullin, North Carolina (Burke, Va.)
Sarah Medland, Miami (Melbourne, Australia)
Laura Petty, Boston College (Bethesda, Md.)
Tori Greco, Boston College (Fort Salonga, N.Y.)
Alex Japhet, Duke (Everett, Wash.)
Rory Erickson-Kulas, Duke (Naugatuck, Conn.)
Michelle Nance, Clemson (Simpsonville, S.C.)
Brittany Cummings, Clemson (Virginia Beach, Va.)
Grace Wolff, Clemson (Chanhassen, Minn.)
Jennifer Cromwell, Virginia (Bellvue, Wash.)
Desiree Burns, Virginia (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.)
Nora Phillips, Virginia (Arlington, Va.)
Helen Tompkins, Virginia (Friendswood, Tex.)
Sidney Thorsten, Virginia (Atlanta, Ga.)

ACC Coach of the Year
Kevin Sauer, Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year
Kristine O’Brien, Virginia (Massapequa Park, N.Y.)