Football individual game tickets are now available! Buy now ➡️

Close Topbar

Rowing Opens 2002-2003 Season At The Tenth Annual Head of the Indian Creek Regatta

Oct. 10, 2002

The University of Miami varsity women’s rowing team will kick off the 2002-2003 season with the tenth annual Head of the Indian Creek regatta on Sunday, October 13 at the Indian Creek near the UM Boathouse at the Ronald Shane Watersports Center on Miami Beach.

The Hurricanes are counting on a strong nucleus of returning rowers. Miami returns twenty-three student-athletes to the varsity squad, including five returnees from the 2002 first varsity eight.

Senior co-captain Maggie Knuth will provide veteran leadership to the group along with junior co-captain Jordanna Heywood. Heywood spent part of the 2001-2002 school-year in the first varsity eight, and will be rejoined by powerful contributors Jenny Krawec, Jacqui Julien, Ananda Chou, Anna Cohen and Bridget Gallagher to lead the team’s boat speed. Returning from the second varsity eight are Caroline Stuart, Julie Crane, Yassi Haririnia and Yennisha Pino.

Last season, under the leadership of new head coach Debra Morgan, the Hurricanes won the all points trophy finishing with 146 points overall, ahead of Central Florida, Barry, FIU, Lynn and Rollins. The regatta was highlighted with Miami’s sweep of the Championship Four race.

The Ronald W. Shane Watersports Center is located off 6500 Indian Creek Drive, just north of the 63rd street bridge in Miami Beach. The finish line will be at Brittany Bay Park, located on the creek side of Indian Creek Drive just before 65th street.

Miami’s race times are as follows:8:40 a.m. Women’s Club 8+
9:20 a.m. Women’s Champ 1x (single)
10:20 am Women’s Championship 4+
11:20 a.m. Women’s Club 4+
12:30 p.m. Women’s Champ 8+

Lineups for race this weekend:8:40 a.m. Women’s Club 8+
University of Miami (UM)
Blue and White Rowing Club
Florida International University (FIU)
Florida Institute of Technology (FIT)
University of Central Florida (UCF) ‘A’
University of Central Florida UCF ‘B’
University of Central Florida UCF ‘C’

10:20 a.m. Women’s Championship 4+
Barry ‘A’
Barry ‘B’

11:20 a.m. Women’s Club 4+
Lynn University
University of Tampa
Miami Rowing Club

12:30 a.m. Women’s Championship 8+