Hurricanes Host Head Of The Creek Regatta

Hurricanes Host Head Of The Creek Regatta

Oct. 13, 2000

Coral Gables, Fla. ( – The University of Miami varsity women’s crew launch the 2000 fall racing season with the eighth annual Head of the Creek Regatta on Sunday, October 15 at Indian Creek near the UM Boathouse at the Shane Watersports Complex on Miami Beach.

Joining the Hurricanes at the Head of the Creek are Central Florida and Barry, plus an assortment of rowing clubs from around the state.

Last season, the varsity women recorded the fastest times of the day in each of the events against a field of South Florida rowing clubs and schools. The two varsity women’s eights that raced recorded times of 16:07.45 and 16:37.69 on the 2,000-meter course, respectively. The varsity women’s four recorded a time of 17:40.9, ahead of Barry University’s 18:05.13 to place first. In the women’s club eight race, the UM “A” boat recorded the top time at 15:50.34, while the UM “B” boat finished a close second at 15:56.06.

Much of the same is expected from a varsity women’s crew that has an equal blend of returning varsity rowers, former UM novice rowers and touted recruits. Returning members from last season’s varsity crew are Cathy Dunnet, Bernadette Lack, Monika Manios, Yianna Reizakis, Lindsey Tarabula, Amanda Turner, Marijka VanderPol, Lauren Walker, Kate Weeden and coxswains Jenny Lee, Cina Quezada and Meg Venezia.

First-year varsity rowers who have elevated from the UM novice program are Dorothy Clay, Margaret Knuth, Ansley McGarity and Nita Rench. The new members to the varsity women’s crew are freshman Trisha Blackwell, Ananda Chou, Bridget Gallagher, Jordanna Heywood, Jacqui Julien, Jenny Krawec, Ruza Rebac, Caroline Stuart and Stephanie Tilley. Sophomore Sheila Cornelius transferred to Miami from Louisville, where she was a member of the Cardinals’ rowing program. Dorien ten Have, a junior from The Netherlands, rowed previously in Holland club programs.

The Regatta’s racing begins at 8 a.m. and concludes at 1 p.m. with an awards ceremony. The Shane Watersports Complex is located off 6500 Indian Creek Drive, just north of the 63rd street bridge in Miami Beach. The finish line will be at Brittany Bay Park, located on the creek side of Indian Creek Drive just before 65th street.

Race ScheduleTime	Event	Boat8:00 	1	Men Championship Singles		Men Lightweight Singles		Men Masters (all) Singles		Men Youth Singles8:20	2	Women Club Eights		Women Youth Eights		Women Novice Eights		Women Youth Novice Eights8:40 	3	Men Championship Fours		Men Masters Fours		Men Youth Fours9:00	4	Men/Women Rec. Singles9:20	5	Men Championship Doubles		Men Masters Doubles9:40	6	Women Championship Singles		Women Lightweight Singles		Women Masters (all) Singles		Women Youth Singles10:00	7	Men Club Fours10:20	8	Men Novice Eights		Men Youth Eights		Men Youth Novice Eights		Men Club Eights10:40	9	Women Championship Fours		Women Youth Fours11:00	10	Men Open Quads		Men Masters Quads11:10	11	Women Championship Doubles		Women Masters Doubles11:30	12	Women Club Fours		Women Masters Fours11:40	13	Mixed Doubles12:00	14	Women Championship Eights		Mixed Eights12:20	15	Men Championship Eights		Men Masters Eights1:00		Awards Ceremony