Hurricane Honors

2023 Award Winners

The IBIS Award - Lauryn Harris

The IBIS is the Athletic Department’s highest award given at the Hurricane Honors AwardsShow. It is presented to the student-athlete who embodies success across athletics, academics, service, and overall engagement.  This award winner possesses dedication, teamwork, and a selflessness that is valued and appreciated by The U family. 

This year’s IBIS Award recipient is Lauryn Harris of Track and Field. Lauryn’s involvement includes being named a PNC achiever, an ACC Unite Award winner, co-president of Black Student-Athlete Alliance, Hurricane Leadership Academy participant, SAAC rep, a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and numerous community service events. Lauryn will graduate in May with a Bachelor of Science in Political Science. In addition to being on the Track and Field team, Lauryn has managed her involvement and service all while earning 4.0 cumulative GPA.

Best Female Student-Athlete (MVP) - Mia Vallée

This year’s winner is Mia Vallée of Women’s Diving, she earned two NCAA All-American First Team accolades this year, as well as claimed a pair of silver medals at the ACC championships, doing so in the 1-meter and 3-meter. One of the most accomplished athletes in the nation in her sport, she is a six-time ACC medalist, earning two golds, and a 2022 NCAA champion. 

Best Male Student-Athlete (MVP) - Isaiah Wong

This year’s winner is Isaiah Wong of Men’s Basketball, he became the second player in program history to capture ACC Player of the Year honors, as well as the sixth to be named an All-American. A three-time All-ACC selection, he was a finalist this season for the prestigious Wooden Award, given to the national player of the year. This award designee led the Hurricanes in points, assists and steals per game, leading the team to the Final Four for the first time ever. 

Female Newcomer of the Year - Alexa Noel

This year’s Female Newcomer of the Year, Alexa Noel of Women’s Tennis is a transfer from the University of Iowa, where she was the Big Ten Player of the Year. Since her arrival at the University of Miami, she has replicated her success as one of the most dominant players in the nation. A four-time ACC Player of the Week who has earned a top-five national ranking, she is 32-7 in singles and 18-8 in doubles. 

Male Newcomer of the Year - Norchad Omier

This year’s Male Newcomer of the Year, Norchad Omier of Men’s Basketball is a transfer from Arkansas State University, where he was the Sun Belt Player of the Year. Since getting to the University of Miami, he has been one of the best big men in the nation, averaging a 13-point, 10-rebound double-double on nearly 60-percent shooting. He posted 16 double-doubles and both earned Third Team All-ACC and Second Team NABC All-District honors, while helping the Hurricanes reach the Final Four. 

Hurricane Leadership Academy Award - Leo Bierbaum

HER (Honor.Empower. Rise) Award - Elle Mezzio

The Career Cane Award - Semrit Nijjar

The Rising Star Award - Isaiah Horton

The Rising Star Award - Kyla Oldacre

The Most Engaged Hurricane Award - Michael Redding III

The Most Engaged Hurricane Award - Daphnee Lavassas

Most Engaged Team Award - Track and Field

ACC Top Six - Alyssa Bacchus

ACC Top Six - Dillon Fields

ACC Top Six - Una Forsythe

ACC Top Six - Kamren Kinchens

ACC Top Six - Jordan Miller

ACC Top Six - Nicole Sowell

The Outstanding Community Service Student-Athlete Award - Sky Klein

The Outstanding Community Service Team Award - Football

The Unsung Hero Award - Alicia Simpson

Female Scholar Athlete - Daevenia Achong

Male Scholar Athlete - Lou Hedley

The Comeback Student-Athlete of the Year - Jalen Rivers

The Comeback Student-Athlete of the Year - Julia Edwards